Summertime Bunting Vintage Style

I love bunting!! It’s not very common in Norway, but I use it as much as I can. However, some seasonal variations are appropriate… and I just realized I don’t really have a garland for summer… so of course I set out to make one 😀

Wings of Whimsy: Summertime Bunting Vintage Style - free printable for personal use

Wings of Whimsy: Summertime Bunting Vintage Style - free printable for personal use

The small garland is printed on one sheet of photo paper, choosing Page Scaling: Multiple Pages Per Sheet: Custom: 2 x5:

Wings of Whimsy: Summertime Bunting Vintage Style - free printable for personal use

Here’s the preview, click on it to download the high quality PDF, of course with the correct amount of M’s…lol There are two different M’s and two different E’s in my garland, if you wish, you can choose to use only one of each. Or print just the first 6 flags for a shorter garland making up the word SUMMER:

Wings of Whimsy: Summertime Bunting Vintage Style - free for personal use

Download Printable

Wings of Whimsy: Summertime Bunting Vintage Style - free printable for personal use

Wings of Whimsy: Summertime Bunting Vintage Style - free printable for personal use Wings of Whimsy: Summertime Bunting Vintage Style - free printable for personal use

For the medium garland I printed 2 flags per sheet, and crocheted the strings and edging. Let me know if anyone is interested in the details about how I did this, and I will make a tutorial and upload for you 😉 I only had the pale blue cotton yarn used in the pictures available, and I was too impatient to wait for the store to open on Monday.  (Edit on Monday: I’m now working on a large 6-flag garland, using shiny apricot cotton yarn, it makes the garland even more smashing!)

I used letters from two different French 1882 Typography sheets, vectorized them and made pngs. Here are the PNG files (transparent background) with my summer colors and my fave damask texture (I use it for e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g atm), for you to share in the fun:

Wings of Whimsy: French 1882 Capitals Summer Colors PNG (transparent background) - free for personal useWings of Whimsy: French 1882 Letters Summer Colors PNG (transparent background) - free for personal use

Wings of Whimsy: French 1882 Capitals Original Colors PNG (transparent background) - free for personal useWings of Whimsy: French 1882 Letters Original Colors PNG (transparent background) - free for personal use

And I also posted the png-files with original colors, for you 🙂

These files are free for your personal use and enjoyment.

I used the following elements for this design:

Ornamental Letter I – Wings of Whimsy

French 1882 Typography – pillpat (Agence Eureka)

Back of Old Photo – The Graphics Fairy

Love&Light

6 thoughts on “Summertime Bunting Vintage Style

    • Thanks Hunny 🙂 I’m testing some various sizes now on my printer, think this one will look great both printed large for the mantle and tinsy-winsy for a shelf… or even just first 6 letters tied to scewers, and put on top of a yummy summer cake! It’s pouring down today and I should be cleaning house, but much more fun to create while waiting for the sun (and good picture weather…lol) I’ll send you an email in a bit, there is something I would like you to take a look at, if you don’t mind?

      Love & Light
      Gunnvor Karita

  1. Pingback: August Grain Sack – Bunting & Papers | Wings of Whimsy

  2. Pingback: Vintage Easter Tags – free printables | Wings of Whimsy

  3. Pingback: Vintage Easter Egg Babies Bunting | Wings of Whimsy

  4. Pingback: The Deck Reveal: Part II – After | Wings of Whimsy

Leave a Reply

