DIY · Ephemera

French Fairy Ex Libris Bookplates – Calling Cards – Labels

I believe, I certainly believe in fairies!!

Since Karen posted this stunning piece of French ephemera on August 21st, I have been contemplating what to create with it. The little label speaks to me in the most magic of ways!

French Fairy Label - The Graphics Fairy

So today I’m sharing my first project using the label, I have a feeling it may not be the last…

Karen provides the blank label in large format, for anyone who wants to play with it themselves. But should you fancy a ready made printable, stay right here πŸ˜‰

For all the students, young and old, and for everyone who enjoy reading, I made printable bookplates:

Wings of Whimsy: French Fairy Ex Libris Bookplates - free for personal use

How about printing the the full page for bookmarks, and 2 pages to a sheet (12 labels) to glue into your books? That way if you lend them to someone, chances are you’ll be getting your treasured books back πŸ™‚

Download Printable

When you arrive on the download page (Google Drive), you can either choose print directly, upon which you will be given the chance to edit/enter your preferred text onto the label. Edit any one label on each page, and the text will copy itself magically onto the other labels on the same page. (for the tech savvy: the magic is embedded into the file using Adobe Acrobat Forms)Β 

I have included a few version of text in the pdf-file, in hopes that everyone can find one they can use. Below the vintage style calling card (modern address) and the label sheet, both are included in the download file:

Wings of Whimsy: French Fairy Calling Card - free for personal use Wings of Whimsy: French Fairy Label Sheet - free for personal use

If you have the Pro version of Adobe, you can also download the file and change the font, or size of the 3 fields of text, before printing.

Don’t worry about the Google Drive preview, for some reason it displays pdf-files very bleak and sorry!! But I promise you, the print will look just as it does here on the blog πŸ™‚

In case you like the labels but would rather print them blank and write by hand or embellish in other ways, or maybe print them for gift tags, here is the blank label sheet for you as well:

Wings of Whimsy: French Fairy Blank Label Sheet - free for personal use

These files are free for your personal use and enjoyment.

I used the following elements to create these printables:

Beyond Wonderland Font: dafont.com

French Fairy Label: The Graphics Fairy

Love&Light

6 thoughts on “French Fairy Ex Libris Bookplates – Calling Cards – Labels

    1. Thank you. I love the original, but also the possibilites for using it repeatedly with customized information πŸ™‚

      I’d love to see this glued into my books when i open them, or maybe to label my girls’ schoolbooks.

      My youngest daughter (age 9) went off to school this morning with her pocket full of personalized calling cards, to give to her friends πŸ˜€

      1. You may be living in the wrong era, but it is nice that you are bringing a little style of our present world. Calling cards for a 9 year old – nice to think about!

        Elephant

      2. She came home asking me to print out more, they were very popular and all gone by the end of the day πŸ˜€ I considered adding “Ahoy” to them, but I doubt the 9 year olds would ever understand the reference…lol

        In Norway we have government recommendation to not give the kids cellphones before they reach 10 yrs of age. However, many parents choose to do so earlier, as it is very practical when the kids come home earlier in the afternoon than the parents. And house phones are rapidly disappearing. I was determined to wait, but earlier this week she got a surprise gift from a bookclub she’s been in, so I did not want to kill her excitement over having her own first phone…lol Of course this lead to a string of request for her number, thus the calling cards were perfect πŸ™‚

  1. Hey Gunnvor Karita,
    So beautiful and I’d love to use them… however, I can’t seem to make the font change in size and style.. Do you have any advice for me?
    Thanks
    Lene

    1. Hiya Lene πŸ™‚

      Thanks for visting πŸ™‚ I’m happy you liked the sheets πŸ™‚ Thanks for pointing out this issue! I have experimented with downloading it to my daughters computer, it only has a plain old version of Adobe Reader installed, and apparently neither the fonts nor the field sizes can be changed there 😦 (On my mac I have Adobe Acrobat Pro, where I can easily make all the changes I want…)

      So I will work on my sheets to have the pdf’s on google drive include several alternatives for a broad range of versions for you to customize and print at home πŸ™‚

      Meanwhile, I will be happy to enter your data into the original file, and send the ready to print file to you by email πŸ™‚ Please send me an email to gunnvor.karita@gmail.com with your data, and what font you request (if you want another font also) I have a large selection of fonts already installed, and I’m happy to consider another free font – if it’s a good one πŸ˜€

      Love & Light
      Gunnvor Karita

Leave a Reply

