DIY · Norwegian · Postcards

A Taste of Norway – Hornindalsrokken Summit

I grew up on a farm in a small rural place in Western Norway called Hornindal. It is smack in the middle of Fjord Norway. In the summer we would take our cows up to the mountain farm, called “sæter” in Norwegian.

Until this day, our sæter is my favorite spot in the world, and I go there every summer, to spend the vacations in our family cabin. My girls love the place just like I do, and we await summers eagerly. No internet, no phones, no electricity, no indoor plumming. It is wonderful 😀 Sometimes we climb the summit…

I just completed a mixed media piece a couple of days ago, and although it is not “vintage”, it still has many vintage elements: the sæter was mostly built in the late 1800, climbing the Sunnmørsalpane peaks was a new attraction in the late 1800s, the folkmusic played is rooted (at least) back to the 1800s and the poems I’m reciting, although new, are strongly influenced by the Asbjørnsen and Moe fairy tale tradition, telling stories about trolls and hulder people, also from the 1800s.

I thought some of you might enjoy a peek into my life, and to see a little bit of who is behind Wings of Whimsy 😉

The youtube-piece is copyrighted due to photos/videos and music submitted by my friends!

To tie off the vintage theme, I’d like to share a 1890 print of the Hornindalsrokken summit, it looks just the same as today:

The vintage print is shared by Library of Congress on Flickr and is in the public domain. Enjoy!

EDIT on October 24th:

The same Sunnmøre Alps can also be climbed during the winter, with skis for the true adventurers! This is a brand new (modern!) film from my local area, makes me super proud of where I live 😀

Love&Light

6 thoughts on “A Taste of Norway – Hornindalsrokken Summit

  1. Wow Gunnvor Karita!!! Soooooo beautiful where you live and I can imagine it makes you so happy to go back where you ‘belong’ and grew up! It looks just ‘perfect’ as life should be. I loved the video and loved to see you too! So nice to get to know you better. I feel connected to Norway, even if it was only for the name I proudly carry. I never will know why my father wanted that name for me, but i’m really proud of it. So…….. I am a bit of a Norwegian in my heart too. I certainly have that ‘Viking’-mentality, hehehe. Anyway…….. you took me into a fairytale atmosphere this morning. Thank you from the bottom of my heart and for sharing your life!
    Hugs
    Ingeborg 😀

    1. Awww, it really means a lot to me that you took the time to watch my video and read the post 🙂 And not very far from Holland, you should come and visit! I’d love to take you exploring the Norwegian crafting traditions, I bet that could boost your creative spirit 🙂 I promised to write you an email, and then it got away from me, will do so asap, so watch your inbox in a bit 😀 xoxoxo

  2. 0h, how lovely!!!! Truly beautiful & I love the spoken language! What a beautiful area you live in. Thanks for the peak into your world, Gunnvor Karita!!!!!

  3. Wow, you are very adventurous. Your country is gorgeous and beautiful. Were you giving blessings over the land in your film just outside the cave? Our family name is McCulley, it is said that the name was first used in 743 by the Strathclyde Britons of Scotland. My bucket list is to see Scotland and the Dunbarton Castle. Now Norway will be on my bucket list. Thank you so much for sharing your film with me… Maybe one day we will meet.

Leave a Reply

