Alphabet

French Cherub Alphabet – JPG, PNG and SVG files

Remember my friend pillpat (agence eureka) on Flickr, and her countless treasures? Today I want to share another of her stunning alphabets, this time with gorgeous French Cherub Drop Cap Initials:

Wings of Whimsy: French Cherub Alphabet in JPG, PNG and SVG files, free for personal use #vintage #typography #printable Wings of Whimsy: French Cherub Alphabet in JPG, PNG and SVG files, free for personal use #vintage #typography #printable Wings of Whimsy: French Cherub Alphabet in JPG, PNG and SVG files, free for personal use #vintage #typography #printable Wings of Whimsy: French Cherub Alphabet in JPG, PNG and SVG files, free for personal use #vintage #typography #printable

Download Printable

I have spent countless hours extracting the individual letters, and aligning them so they are as equal as possible in size, and as straight as possible, and then vectorizing them in Illustrator.

The above download folder contains sub folders with the individual letters as JPG, PNG (transparent background) and vectorized SVG-files (that can be resized to any any size you want, you must have advanced photo editing tools to use SVG-files)

Example of individual JPG letter:

Wings of Whimsy: French Cherub Alphabet in JPG, PNG and SVG files, free for personal use #vintage #typography #printable

Example of JPG-letters used together:

Wings of Whimsy: French Cherub Alphabet in JPG, PNG and SVG files, free for personal use #vintage #typograpy #printable

Example of individual PNG letter:

Wings of Whimsy: French Cherub Alphabet in JPG, PNG and SVG files, free for personal use #vintage #typography #printable

Example of PNG-letters used together:

Wings of Whimsy: French Cherub Alphabet in JPG, PNG and SVG files, free for personal use #vintage #typograpy #printable

These files are free for your personal use and enjoyment 🙂

I think these French Cherub Capital Letters would look adorable for Christmas, and with the large sizes you can easily use them for bunting or other crafts that require large sizes 🙂

Love&Light

15 thoughts on “French Cherub Alphabet – JPG, PNG and SVG files

    1. I’m sorry hunny, but there are no Is and Ws in this particular alphabet 😦

      I have seen it in a lot of antique alpabets, where some letters are missing. I think they used the J for both I and J. I believe W is very rare in French, and when used it is pronounced like V. Are there any French people reading this that can enlighten us? Or any typography experts who knows why many antique alphabets have either I or J, but some times not both?

  1. Oui vous avez raison Karita, il manque deux lettres I et W – pourtant nous avons des Isabelle, des Walter et ces deux lettres font partie intégrante de notre Alphabet. Même si Napoléon a connu Waterloo, je suis triste
    que les typographes aient oublié volontairement ou non ces deux lettres. Dommage dommage !

    1. Thank you for the input passante.

      If anyone does not read French (like me) try google translate and copy-paste the comment there: http://translate.google.com/ 😉

      I have seen this on several occasions, also with antique English alphabets. It varies what letters are left out, but I have noticed more often it is the letters J and W. (Not like here where I and W are missing). I really wish I knew why this was done!??

  2. Are the beautiful Cherubs and Alphabet free to use on our business site? I’m going to be redoing my website to be more vintage like and would love to be able to use your wonderful art 🙂 . If allowed please let me know. I will also totally credit you on my website! x

    1. I am sorry I will not allow free use of this alphabet on a business site. if you are interested, I can give you an offer on using these, it will not be very expensive, and I can help customize them to your needs 😉 xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

