DIY · Ephemera · Norwegian

DIY Christmas Paper Chains

From my childhood I vividly recall cutting paper chains for Christmas. We would cut free shapes, and just see what they turned out as. Usually we’d try to make Boys and Girls. The trick is to have your shapes connect on the sides, and for a more sturdy paper chain, they should connect in two spots on each side.

Create a few easy last minute Christmas Paper Chains, with my ready to go printables:

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Paper Chain - Santa's Reindeer - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #printable

Santa’s Reindeer

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Paper Chain - Snowman - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #printable

Snowman

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Paper Chain - Nisse - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #printable

Nisse (Norwegian elf)

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Paper Chains - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #printable

I made these 3 different variations, using (again!) my absolute favorite antique texture from Karen’s (The Graphics Fairy) never-endig vault of treasures. I also made a seamless tile with the Faux Snow font and made it transparent, so it will layer on top of anything:

Wings of Whimsy: Seamless Snowflake Tile - PNG (transparent background) - free for personal use

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Print your chosen design on A4 paper
  2. Score on the vertical white lines
  3. Cut around the strips, and cut the two strips apart on the horizontal white line
  4. Accordion fold both strips
  5. Cut out the details of your paper chain, through all 4(5) layers of paper
  6. Glue the two chains together on the glue tabs
  7. Use the second set of glue tabs if you want your chain to form a circle, if not cut those away

Since you will be cutting 4 or 5 layers of paper at once for these, I recommend not choosing too thick paper. I used matte photo paper for mine, and that is probably the thickest you should go, I think it is 170g. I belive 120g paper would be optimal for these, but I did not have any on hand… If you go thinnner that that, your figures could start bending. Not a problem if you want to hang your chains, though, only if you want them to stand like mine πŸ˜‰

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Paper Chain - Snowman - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #printable

If you make the chains to hang, you can repeat as many times as you want, and also cut away the little platform the figures are standing on πŸ˜‰

High quality print files of all 3 designs can be downloaded here:

Download Printable

These files are free for your personal use and enjoyment πŸ˜€

I have used the following elements for these designs:

Texture – The Graphics Fairy

Faux Snow font – dafont.com

1942 Report font – dafont.com

Love&Light

PS Did you like the XL Robin tags I decorated my media centre with? I just printed the individual tags as large as possible on A4-size paper, glued them to some old pizzaboxes with mod podge and cut them out when dry πŸ™‚ Find them here:

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Robins Gift Tags - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #printable

3 thoughts on “DIY Christmas Paper Chains

  1. Have many thanks for your nice comment.I was very happy about it.Of course your can use my pictures. There wasn’t a link to the chrochet star, but I will send it to you. I can not find your e mail adress, can you send it to me.
    warm christmas grettings

    Please excuse my englisch

    1. Thank you for letting me use the pictures, they will of course link to your site πŸ™‚

      Your English is great, 100 times better than my German…lol (although I did learn German for 5 years in school, so I am actually able to read and make sense of a good bit… but ask me to write or talk: I’m completely lost…lol)

      Thank you very much for offering to send me the pattern, my email is gunnvor.karita@gmail.com πŸ™‚

      May your Christmas be Merry & Bright!

      Love & Light
      Gunnvor Karita

Leave a Reply

