DIY · Postcards

DIY Vintage Children Christmas Ornaments

There is still time to create a few vintage ornaments and slip them fresh off your craft table onto your Christmas tree:

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Children Ornaments - free for personal use #christmas #printable #ephemera

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Children Ornaments - free for personal use #christmas #printable #ephemera Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Children Ornaments - free for personal use #christmas #printable #ephemeraWings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Children Ornaments - free for personal use #christmas #printable #ephemera

When I found these Christmas Greeting Cards, I fell completely in love! They were not on my To-Do list for this years celebration, but I simply had to make the time! My ornaments are made like this:

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Print 2 copies of the page with all 9 images
  2. Cut out the images
  3. Cut 2-3 strips of crepe-paper approx 2,5cm/1 inch wide.
  4. Fold the strips in soft ruffles, don’t press the folds too hard.
  5. Attach the strips with hot glue to the back of one image (I was able to do 1 side or 1 corner at the time. if I put more glue in one go, it hardens before I get to it, or my work becomes too sloppy…
  6. Attach the matching image to the back, to create a double sided-ornament, equally pretty on both sides πŸ™‚
  7. Trim the ruffles with scissors, if needed
  8. Punch holes and hang with pretty ribbon of your choosing

I also made a couple with a small doily sandwiched between my pair of images. To do those, i accordion-folded the doily in the middle, and glued the middle centimeter together, to make it oval rather than round.

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Children Ornaments - free for personal use #christmas #printable #ephemera

I also did a couple of ornaments using hand-dyed coffee-filters. If you don’t have crepe-paper on hand, this is a great alternative! Put a little water in a flat container and add food coloring of your choice. Don’t bother to stir ’till perfectly dissolved, as the vintage style benefits from a little uneven color πŸ˜‰ Leave the filters in the colored water for a few minutes, dry them on paper towels. Don’t put the towels directly on the countertop, since the color could blead through. I left mine to dry overnight, but if you are in a hurry, I think you could use a blow drier or put them in the baking oven to dry more quickly. I have not tried coloring my coffee-filters with watercolor or acrylic color, but in theory that should work too! I’m going to try this technique to dye some doilies too, I will let you know how it turns out πŸ˜‰ I think my blue crepe paper is too dark/bright, so if I make more of these, I’ll be coloring some coffee filters (or doilies!) pastel blue:

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Children Ornaments - free for personal use #christmas #printable #ephemeraWings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Children Ornaments - free for personal use #christmas #printable #ephemera

These would also look pretty on skewers in a vase, like a vintage bouquet of Christmas children πŸ™‚ If you want to try that, I suggest sandwiching the skewer before you attatch the second image.

You could also use the same techniques to make cards, should you still need one. Print the collage sheets I have prepared with 4 of these cards on each sheet, cut out the image you want to work with and add crepe-ruffles or doily-lace. Then glue the framed picture to creme or soft pastel cardstock, and write your greeting inside.

The boy portrait is slightly wider than the other 8, so he is not included on the collage sheets for cards.

High quality print files for the ornaments, and collage sheets can be downloaded here:

Download Printable

Check out the wonderful details of these Christmas Greeting Cards! Click on the ones you like to go to Tuck DB and download individual images:

Christmas Greeting - Tuck DB

Christmas Greeting - Tuck DB

Christmas Greeting - Tuck DB

Christmas Greeting - Tuck DB

Christmas Greeting - Tuck DB

Christmas Greeting - Tuck DB

Christmas Greeting - Tuck DB

Christmas Greeting - Tuck DB

Christmas Greeting - Tuck DB

These files are free for your personal use and enjoyment πŸ˜€

Love&Light

7 thoughts on “DIY Vintage Children Christmas Ornaments

    1. I hope you will find good use for the images. If time is running out to finish something before Christmas, it is my experience that the Christmas Days are well suited for some fun crafting πŸ˜‰

      Merry Christmas to you to πŸ™‚

  1. Thanks for ALL your wonderful vintage images, they are all so lovely and I do love all things vintage.
    Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.

    Silverbutterfly

    1. Thank you very much for your lovely comment πŸ™‚ I hope you are able to use them for some fun crafting πŸ™‚

      May your Christmas be Merry & Bright, and best wishes for a Happy New Year.

      Gunnvor πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

