DIY · Postcards

DIY Upcycled Christmas Crafting

The cards have been delivered, the tags and embellishments ripped off the gifts, and paper is torn off every present. For a creative crafter, this is resource-HEAVEN! I always pay attention to every package my family has opened and ask to save the best pieces instead of them going in the trash.

So I’m going home with a stash of cute paper and used tags & cards, that I will upcycle next year πŸ˜€ Already the ideas are flowing, but I’m going to force myself to yield for now, there is New Years coming up, and then Valentine… so this will all have to go in a storage box for now, but what a treasure to take it all out in a year πŸ™‚

Celebrating Christmas with my sister, I have also re-discovered some of the ornaments I made earlier years, and I thought I’d share those with you:

Wings of Whimsy: Ornaments of the past

1. Christmas Cone made from a metal wire table runner, cut and curled into a cone shape, hung with silk ribbon.

2. Upcycled Christmas Cone, made from a cute cherub cut out of used wrapping paper, glued onto silver glanspapir (coated paper) and embellished with pretty pearls thread on metal string and red silk bows.

3 & 4. Upcycled pleated Christmas Hearts with red & white glanspapir combined with pretty wrapping paper.

5. Christmas Cones made from metallic paper and gold doilies

6. Christmas Hearts made from 2 small gold doilies.

Here are some close ups:

Wings of Whimsy: Ornaments of the past - Cone with upcycled wrapping paper

Wings of Whimsy: Ornaments of the past - Pleated Heart with upcycled wrapping paper

Wings of Whimsy: Ornaments of the past - Cone with metallic paper and gold doily

Wings of Whimsy: This years new ornament hung on the tree: Sheet Music Rosette

I hope this post has reminded you that crafting need not only be from new materials and fancy supplies. Take a second look at what you have on hand and consider combining in new ways! Recycle, upcycle and redesign! And if not this year, store your supplies in a box and dig them out next year πŸ™‚ And before I forget: this tip goes for the rest of the year as well πŸ˜‰

Love&Light

PS: Did you like the Sheet Music Rosette? Check out my free printable, with instructions on how to make these HERE.

Leave a Reply

