Ephemera

A True Victorian Story – from Hornindal to Hollywood? – Part V

Did you see the picture of my great-great-grandparents yesterday? My great-grandmother’s other brother, Peder, also emigrated. His full name was Peder Andreas Knutson Seljeset (1876-1967) and he emigrated in 1895. This is the picture he sent home from Duluth, Minnesota:

Wings of Whimsy: Peder Seljeset - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #photo

At some point he moved on and settled for good in Canada. According to my records he married a swedish girl, Emma Kristina Moren (1889-1973) in 1910 in Winnipeg, Canada.

Wings of Whimsy: Emma Moren - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #photo

I don’t really know much about what happened to him in Canada. but local records lists him with 5 children with his over 20 years younger wife, and he was over 50 years old when his youngest daughter Ruby June Knutson was born in 1928. Like I said yesterday, I also believe he came home to visit in the late 20ies/early30ies, so he must have done well for himself!

And I also wonder if he took his wife to visit Hollywood:

Wings of Whimsy: Peder Seljeset & Emma Moren - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #photo

I have tried enlarging the little text down in the corner, I’m pretty certain it says “Hollywood Magic”…

Wings of Whimsy: Hollywood Magic - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #photo

So today’s questions are for the movie-peeps out there (Arbin – that includes you!) , and for the knowledgeable dress-ladies (Anna B. and Wanda, for starters!):

  • When could the above image have been taken in Hollywood?
  • Can you please take a look at Anna’s blouse/dress in her portrait, and tell me what period it might be from?
  • And finally for the Canadians:  most of Peder’s and Emma’s decendants are listed in Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada. Is there someone out there feeling compelled to run their names and see if we can find any living relatives? Please post here if you are up for the challenge, and I’ll send you all details I have in a private email 🙂

Everyone else is also of course welcome to help answer my questions 😀

These files are free for your personal use and enjoyment. I scan all my ephemera in 600 dpi. Go to the download folder below to grab your high quality copies:

Download Printable

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss future posts on WoW:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

9 thoughts on “A True Victorian Story – from Hornindal to Hollywood? – Part V

  1. I am absolutely not an expert on ladies fashions but that dress has a real ‘grown up’ Shirley temple feel to it. So possibly late 1930s?
    Terry

    1. Hehe, Terry you are too funny! I wanted to ask you if it’s realistic that they went to Hollywood…;-) Would that have been a desireable attraction in those days? xoxoxo

  2. My interest in styles sort stops at Queen Victoria’s death in 1901 so I can’t say much about that photo. But, my impulse was to say 1930’s as well. It didn’t say flapper 20’s and it didn’t say wartime 40’s to me. His face looked like he was in his 50’s to me as well and you said he had his last child while in his 50’s in the 1930’s.

    1. I pretty much figured as much dear Wanda, I wanted you to take a look at her portrait and the dress/blouse she is wearing there (the top picture of her). Also her hairstyle there indicates much earlier times, I would have even guessed fin de sicele…?

      But then she still looks so young in the second image, I’d say the first can be no earlier than 1910…:-P

      Please have a second look at her portrait and let me know your best guess…lol xoxoxo

  3. I could be wrong, but I think that the “Hollywood Magic” imprint was a photographer logo, much like the “Olan Mills” one you see around. It’s likely it was not in Hollywood at all, but a photographer cashing in on the Hollywood craze to make his customers feel like he was going to make them look as great as the stars. 🙂

    1. Hello Dear 🙂

      Thank you for an interesting comment! I tried to google various phrases, searching for information about the imprint, but it is all drowned by Disney…lol

      If anyone else know more about this, please share.

      In the 30ies they were living in Canada, probably the Vancouver-area. Any chance this could have been a “local” Canadian photographer? xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

