DIY · Ephemera · Uncategorized

DIY Old Book Crafts – No 4 – Accordion Organizer

I like the pages of old books, and enjoy working with them a lot, but what I really LOVE is the hardcovers! So today we are advancing the Old Book Crafts into making an Accordion Organizer 😀   Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion Organizer How clever is that? Use your Accordion Organizer for coupons, to sort your graphic printouts/leftovers, for patterns or templates. I used mine for easy access to ready made tags, and for my stationery. If you can find large books (like encyclopedias), you can even make these for A4 sized papers 🙂   Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerWings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion Organizer

 INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Divide your book into 11 sections.. This will give 10 pockets when done. I used post-it-notes to mark where I wanted my dividers (paper clips would work too)
  2. Each post-it-note covers 2 adjacent pages. If your pages are thin, you might want it to cover 3 pages.
  3. Cut out all pages between each divider
  4. Sew (or glue) the divider pages together
  5. Trim 12 of the pages you have cut out to the same width.
  6. Accordion fold each page into 8 equal sections
  7. Glue 3 and 3 pages together into long accordion folded strips
  8. Start at the back of the book and align the first strip with the side of the page
  9. Glue it down to the back of the divider with your glue gun
  10. Repeat for the second strip
  11. Also glue both strips to the front of the divider (one at the time)
  12. Insert one accordion fold to create the “pocket”, then glue the next one
  13. Repeat on the other side
  14. Repeat steps 9-13 until you have created all the pockets, keep aligning your accordion to the dividers for a neat finish
  15. I also recommend closing the book between glueing each pocket to make sure it is not twisting.
  16. Use mod podge (or other craft glue) to attach the first divider to the front book cover inside
  17. Repeat for the last divider onto the back cover inside.
  18. Gesso the outside cover of your book (or use white acrylic paint for a base coat)
  19. Decorate your organizer to your liking (I decoupaged printed book pages on one of my organizers, and a cute rose napkin on the other)
  20. Eyeball where you want the button/bead/brad on the front cover and pierce the whole with a hole punch
  21. Align another hole on the back cover accordingly
  22. Sew your button/bead or attatch the brad through front cover
  23. Attach rubber band or ribbon through back cover (I like using hair ruber bands, they are cuter than regular rubber bands, and more durable)
  24. Fill with content and TA-DAH: Vintage Accordion Organizer 😀

Here is a few pictures of the process: Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerCreating the sections (totally eyeballed, no exact calculations) Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerOne post-it note covers 2 pages Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerPages between two post-it notes were removed with scissors, I deliberately did not cut too close to the spine, don’t want the book falling apart on us! Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerAll the pages removed, only the dividers left Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerI sewed my dividers together, you can glue them if you prefer, or maybe even single pages will work as dividers… I kind of like the thicker feel when two pages are combined… Again I used the trick of red thread on top and white underneath, to get two colored seams. I chose a wide zig zag stitch, with about medium density, for a nice even pattern. Some of the embroidery stitches would also be kewl for this, experiment and see what you like on a couple of loose pages first. Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerNo need to sew all the way to the spine. I started out fastening the stitches, but later realized they would be covered in glue, thus secured. Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion Organizer3 pages accordion folded and next 3 pages ready to go Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerThe accordion folded pages were hot glued to the back of the last divider. I recommend starting from the back, it makes it easier to align both the dividers and the cover. Since it is an old book, it is no longer perfectly “flat”, all my old books tend to “lean to the back” if you understand, and starting from the back will counteract that lean, rather than enhance it 😛 Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerThe last divider closed towards the back cover, I used a big clip to hold the other divider pages out of my way, and only unfastened one at the time, as I was progressing through the dividers. Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerThe accordion pages where also hot glued to the front of the divider Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerThen add one extra accordion to create the pocket, and glue to the back of the next divider. Since I was using hot glue, I only glued one side at the time, alternating. If applying hot glue to both, I could end up twisting my work too much… but that is me, you might master the hot glue better! 🙂 Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerAll the pockets are done. 10 pockets is a good count for being able to leave the organizer fully open. You can of course make more pockets if your book is thick. With less than 10 pockets, the book can not be opened 180 degrees, and chances are the accordions might tear. I used mod podge to attach the last divider to the back cover, and lastly the first divider to the front cover. This order also helps ensuring the book is not twisting/leaning to the back. Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion OrganizerBack covers of my new Accordion Organizers 🙂 Aren’t they pretty? Once you have made one, you will find that the speed picks up remarkably on making the next one, and these can be made in about 1 hour, (not counting the time for the craft glue and gesso/paint to dry ).

Victorian Angel from Home Of Our FathersVictorian Angel from Home Of Our Fathers

I found the gorgeous cherubs with roses and instruments, that I used for one of the covers on Home Of Our Fathers, please visit if you (like me) adore angels and cherubs, she has many more available 😀

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss future posts on WoW:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

25 thoughts on “DIY Old Book Crafts – No 4 – Accordion Organizer

    1. YAY!! I’m stoked, please let me know if you try to make one, and how it goes 😀 I’m planning to set up a “work shop” making these with my girls this week, I have a feeling they will love them 😀 (They have been with their dad for 2 weeks, but are coming home tomorrow, can’t wait to see them again :-D) xoxoxo

  1. This is so beautiful sweet friend, I really love what you made of these here, and I love the fact it´s so useful too. Can easily see one used for stamped images so you can bring them around where ever you go without ruinging them, Awesome project as everything you´re doing.
    Have a wonderful week ahead hun and loads of great fun too.

  2. Gunnvor Karita:
    I just love the crafts I have seen so far. I was a bit disappointed that several used a sewing machine. I am 63 (close to 64) and Married for 44 year. I have always loved crafts but when I developed several health problems and could no longer do the crafts that I used to do so I took it upon myself to search for paper crafts that did not look like what they were for children. I found your site when Pinterest sent me with your fan craft and I pinned that and I also signed up for your newsletter. I have 2 yahoo groups for homeschool families and when I found that I sent your link to both groups. The first group “WherecanIfindit” is a group I send out links 5 days a week with about 6-8 links. The second group is “WherecanIfinditweekly” and I send the links from Tuesday to the following Monday and send all the links on Monday. This is for those families who can’t get on the computer very often or they don’t have one of their own. I have gotten several replies to your fan craft thanking me for sending it to the group. Homeschooler’s like to teach their children crafts that they can use all their lives not just children’s crafts. I pray that many will sign up for your newsletter. As I get the chance I will be checking out your whole site for crafts that I can do.

    Thank you so much again. I love your site.

    1. Dear Jackie 🙂

      I am thrilled to hear that you are enjoying my site, and the whimsies I share 🙂 Thank you also for sharing with your groups, my site is still very small and I’m happy for all visitors who stop by!

      Paper is my main medium, and I like to combine it with other techniques. As for the sewing machine, I’ve just been doing that for a personal touch and some variation, you could use glue where the stitces are holding paper together, and thread bakers twine for the sewn garlands 🙂

      I still have a few more of the Old Book Crafts in brewing, I think you might like some of the upcoming ideas too 🙂

      Love&Light
      Gunnvor Karita 🙂

  3. Now that is what I call very clever! So pretty!!!! Thank you for the inspiration dear Gunnvor. You’re so busy! It looks so pretty; all of it!
    xox
    Ingeborg

  4. I am loving your blog and all your crafty ideas! I think I am going to go to second hand store and get some old books for about .33 cents and do this. Fantastic! Thanks so much!!!
    XOXO Nana

    1. Thank you so much Nana, it makes me very happy to hear that 🙂 Hopefully you’ll be very pleased with your accordion organizers. They’ll make lovely gifts for Christmas too 😀 xoxoxo

  5. A very good friend sent me this link and I am so glad she did. Love what you did with the book, a fabulous way to use old books and give them a new lease of life. I am in the process of moving home so all my craft things are packed away:( As soon as I am settled in my new craft room I can’t wait to try this out. xxxx

    1. Thank you very much for the praising words. Hopefully the idea is good enough to stay with you until you get a chance to try it yourself 🙂 Thank you also for becoming a follower, I look forward to having you around 🙂 xoxoxo

  6. Love the fanfold idea, going to use the fanfold to make a portfolio. Angels and cherubs are a favorite of mine also. Thank you, Ann

Leave a Reply

