DIY · Postcards

DIY Catherine Klein Rose Birdies

Did I tell you that I have a new studio? No?

All my crafts lately are somehow related to the new studio. Prettyfying it, or making it functional ๐Ÿ™‚ If you saw it right this moment, you’d shake your heads saying: “how can this ever become beautiful, it’s just a mess!” – but see, I have a vision… ๐Ÿ˜› Someday, I hope to be able to show you my new pride and delight, the attic studio with a view I have created for myself.ย 

Until then, here is another addition to the studio: the cutest Catherine Klein Rose Birdies I could come up with:

Wings of Whimsy: Catherine Klein Rose Birdies #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #bird #diyWings of Whimsy: Catherine Klein Rose Birdies #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #bird #diyWings of Whimsy: Catherine Klein Rose Birdies #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #bird #diy

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Print the sheet of pwetty birdies (I use 170g Canon Matte Photo paper, my go-to paper for ALL paper crafts)
  2. Cut the bird bodies away from the wings and tails below
  3. Score along the middle line, and make a sharp crease
  4. Apply spray glue to the back of the bird bodies and glue the front and back together
  5. Set the bodies aside so the glue can dry (takes about 5 minutes with my spray glue)
  6. Cut out the wings and tail pieces, I cut twice into the white marks, to expand it just a wee bit
  7. Cut out the bodies. Eyeball where you want the wings, the position and angle of the cut will change the expression of the bird
  8. Make a cut approximately in the middle of the tail, cut twice to widen it a tiny bit
  9. Wrap the tail piece around a pencil to create a curved shape
  10. Punch a whole approximately in the middle of the bird for hanging.
  11. Hang and TA-DAH: the cutest little Catherine Klein Rose Birdies ๐Ÿ˜€

The reason why I did not mark the spots for the wings, tail or hole for hanging, is that these birdies also look really cute without the wings and tail. If you prefer that look, for cards, gift tags or as gift toppers, you will probably see that you need to punch the hole for hanging closer to the birds head to make it balance (the weight is different without the wings and tail). Also this gives you the option of positioning the wings yourself, to display different expressions on you birds ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is my printable for the Catherine Kleinย Rose Birdies:

Wings of Whimsy: Catherine Klein Rose Birdies - #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #bird

The high quality Catherine Klein Rose Birdies can be found in the download folder below. The files are free for your personal use and enjoyment. Download Printable

I have used the following elements for this design:

Single Catherine Klein Rose: Rosemai

Cathering Klein Pink Roses – Vintage Images

I have also used the Catherine Klein Pink Roses postcard before, to make several digital elements: including wreaths and frames and the roses as PNG file (click on roses below to see the complete set):

Wings of Whimsy: Pink Roses - Catherine Klein - PNG (transparent background) - free for personal use

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click โ€œFollowโ€ ย to register and make sure you don’t miss future posts on WoW:

  • WordPress-users:ย in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

10 thoughts on “DIY Catherine Klein Rose Birdies

    1. Thank you Dear ๐Ÿ™‚ I am truly enjoying every step of the way, I am barely l-e-a-v-i-n-g the room these days…lol! My sister came by, wrinkled her nose and said: “you already filled it so there is no room to create” – but she does not understand my creative process… I need to have several projects in pipeline at all times…lol That is why I worry there will never be a nice and presentable studio to show you all…:-P Glad you like the birdies, I’m sure they’ll fit many more places than just my studio ๐Ÿ˜€ xoxoxo

  1. Lucky you on your new space!! I am currently redoing my studio as well. I LOVE the Birds of Roses!! How so very beautiful. I am going to have to make some to dangle in my new room. Maybe a few for work too!! Thank you for sharing this. Kathy

    1. Hold on to that thought, Dear… I’m thrilled that you like my birdies, but I can reveal there is two more matching “ornaments” coming…:-P You might want to print them all and combine… just saying ๐Ÿ˜€ xoxoxo

  2. Congrats on having a new studio for yourself. With your level of creativity you deserve it. Don’t worry about it being too messy. It’s not supposed to be for a magazine photo shoot……it’s for creating. Thanks so much for sharing your talents with us. By the way, your daughters’ freckles in your gold crown post made me grin with delight! They are so cute I don’t know how you can stand it!

    1. Aww, thank you so much for the lovely comment Paula! I’ll be sure to tell the girls you said that ๐Ÿ™‚ They are bigger now, those pictures are are from 2009, but I thought they were just perfect to display the crowns…lol

      I don’t mind the mess in my studio on a daily basis, I just wish it’d be tidy for one afternoon, so I could present it to you…lol If you look closely in my recent pictures, you can see some of it ๐Ÿ˜› But I set the camera to focus on the items, since the background is always more or less messy… ๐Ÿ˜› And also the designs deserve to be captured at least once flying solo… ๐Ÿ˜€

      Love&Light
      Gunnvor Karita

Leave a Reply

