Postcards

Maud Humphrey Girls ?

While collecting Victorian and Edwardian postcards, I have come to realize that the artists who painted the postcards, often times were also hired to do trade cards. But while the postcards were often signed, apparently the trade cards were not. I wish I knew why, maybe the signatures were not supposed to compete with the advertisements…?

I enjoy collecting trade cards too, and spending time trying to pinpoint who the artists were. So for today’s set of tags I have used trade cards I’m fairly certain were early works painted by Maud Humphrey. She was known and widely recognized for painting girls for a variety of postcards:

Wings of Whimsy: Maud Humphrey Girls #vintage #ephemera #printable #freebie #trade card

I could of course be wrong, since this is merely based upon my personal judgement, but she has a certain style, and I think all of these sweet little girls fit with that 🙂

The file is free for your personal use and enjoyment. Go to the download folder below to grab your high quality copy 🙂

Download Printable

My confirmed followers will also find the individual images in the EXCLUSIVE download folder. If you forgot how to access the Exclusive folder, pop me a note, and I’ll be happy to refresh your memory 😉

If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss future posts on WoW:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

14 thoughts on “Maud Humphrey Girls ?

  1. My dear Gunnvor Karita, like you, I’m a fan of Maud Humphrey works, but in this particular case, I think that this lovely little girls are not from Maud.
    You are very right when you say that the advertising works, almost of the times, haven’t signatures, that is really a shame!
    Anyway, these tags are very, very beautiful!!
    Thank you for sharing your talent with us!

    An hug from Portugal

    Alexandra Roldão

    1. Dear Alexandra 🙂

      I’m so exited to hear your thoughts on the matter, I know you recently had a large post about Maud. I agree these do not look like her later work, BUT I think there is reason to examine the matter more closely: Maud was very young when she first started illustrating for money (around 16 years old, I believe?) and trade cards were also most popular before the turn of the century (while Maude was still very young). Are you on Pinterest? If so I’d love to share some other Maud Humphrey trade cards with you, for you to take a look and consider this mystery further with me.

      If this in fact is not Maud’s work, do you have any suggestions on other artists that could have done these?

      Love&Light
      Gunnvor Karita

    1. Thank you sweetie, if you need a fresh batch of tags (who doesn’t?) maybe these will make it to your printer and craft table 🙂

      I’m not convinced either way about the artist, (yet), and there is also a chance these could be painted by different artists! So I’m thrilled to hear any thoughts on the matter, maybe together we are able to confirm these little art pieces for sure 😀 xoxoxo

  2. Hi sweetie, these are soooooooooo gorgeous and very very beautiful. I´m not even close to be clever enough to recognize this kind of work from any artists, but I´m clever enough to see some use of them, that´s for sure. ha ha ha They´re sooo gorgeous and would look sooo great in a frame on a card too.
    I was just looking for the other folder too, and for some reason, I can´t get into it?? But I´ve also had huge problems commenting here the last weeks, so don´t know, what is happening in cyberspace??? I hope you get this, else I better try with a mail, next.
    Have a wonderful week-end sweetie and lots of great fun.

    1. And finally, this is the third and last comment retrieved from the blog spam inbox. I assure you, all the rest of the posts there really were spam! so no idea why your comments were routed there, all of a sudden 😦

      I will send you links to the Exclusive folder in a private mail, where you can download the complete trade cards, pretty little things 😀 xoxoxo

  3. Good morning, I thank you for all the ephemera…love it! Usually I click on Download it the images do so automatically. Today, however, clicking takes me to the Vintage folder but the images don’t appear. Also, I do not remember how to access the Exclusive folder.

    Thanks, and have a good weekend. 🙂

    Arline

    1. Dear Arline 🙂

      I have sent you a personal email with the information about the Exclusive folder. Not sure why you are not able to download like usual, I have not done anything different… Maybe give it another try in a few hours or tomorrow? One of my other readers reported this problem too a few months ago, and the next day it was fine again, without me changing anything…lol Please let me know if the problem persists! xoxoxo

    1. Thank you Sweete 🙂 I am researching Maud Humphrey best I can, and I am 50/50 now as to if she really is the artist of these girls… but regardless of that, they are beautiful and deserve to be enjoyed 😀 xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

