DIY · Ephemera · Reader Projects

2014 WoW Christmas Ornament Swap: Set No 2

Another set of ornaments arrived at it’s new home today!

The following set of Tart Tin Ornaments was made by Margie in Northumberland, England for Irene in Arkansas, USA:

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

 

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014And here is the lovely Margie with her ornaments! She sent me this little note about the ornaments:

Thanks again for the inspiration – you might recognise the image of the children on the sledge …….  That one was actually the easiest to make.  The hanging decoration had me stumped for a while until I found a piece of packaging which would fit inside the tin and hold the Vintage Santa image on top – lots of glue needed though.  My favourite has to be the 3D Christmas fairy which I made using the Tim Holtz dressform die and lots of folded old music paper sheets.  I love her wings and just hope these don’t come off during transit.  Anyway, I’m sure a dab of glue will re-attach them if they have.

And when I commented on the unusual boat shape of the last one pictured here, she said:

The tart tins were bought at a Collectors Fair near us so I presume they are from a local source but I thought the boat shaped one was cute too.  I think these were used to make pattiserie tartlets filled with cream and fresh fruit.  I seem to remember my granny making these for special occasions when I was young.  Pity I didn’t inherit any of hers though.

Irene was also very excited to receive her swapped ornaments:

I received my package yesterday from Margie. I love them. Such beautiful work. I am going to put them on my tree this year. Thank you and Merry Christmas.

Another set of complete treasures, in my book! Don’t these talented ladies deserve some extra cheers and encouragements?

Even Margie picked one of my earlier graphics for one of her ornaments, and I was equally surprised about her idea, using the sleigh ride children (click on image below to go to my post):

Wings of Whimsy: Sleighride #victorian #ephemera #freebie #printable #tradecard

I am soooo going to copy this idea too!!! lol

Did you miss out on the planning of this swap? This is what my swappers signed up for back in September:

  • Each swap is for a set of 3 ornaments. Either 1 tart tin swap or 1 cookie cutter swap, swapped with one swap buddy
  • Deadline November 15th to craft your ornaments, take pictures and get the packages ready
  • Send pictures to me of the finished ornaments
  • Alert me when the swapped ornaments arrive at their new home

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss future posts on WoW:

WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account

Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

6 thoughts on “2014 WoW Christmas Ornament Swap: Set No 2

  1. Oooh my goodness, these are soooooooooo gorgeous and so darling. I absolutely love them all. What an outstanding work, there´s been put into these lovelies here. I can certainly understand why Irene is soo thrilled with these. Stunning work here MArgie, you are such a talented lady, that´s for sure. I absolutely LOVE them.

    1. Thank you again for the wonderful comment, Sweetie!

      It’s very inspiring, and I’ll be copying every idea that comes…lol! I’m definitely making more of these ornaments, I’m actually considering making them to sell!

      Both because I love the quick easy projects, (which making ONE ornament is) and because they are sooo easy to change for unique pieces every time! I also love that they are in fact little mixed media projects, where only the imagination is the limit to how materials can be combined 🙂 xoxoxo

  2. Hi Gunnvor Karita, Lovely are those! Margie really made them sooooo pretty! I love that dressform! It’s nice to see you are all having so much fun! Enjoy!! xox Ingeborg

    1. Thank you Sweetie! I agree, we have really had a lot of fun with this swap, and the results are beyond my wildest dreams…lol All that creativity and originality!!! I am truly hoping this will be inspiring to other too, copying a few of these if you have an example to follow shouldn’t be too difficult 🙂 xoxoxo

  3. The tart tins are very sweet, sparkly, and inventive! I love that the orientation is unexpected with items housed in little tart “boats”. More ideas for next year with tins I still have!

    1. I bet when you come to August, you’ll have built up a huge pile of tins, there’s no stopping us now…is there…lol! If I ever attend craft fairs, tart tin ornies will definitely be on my table! 🙂 xoxoxo
      (PS I just purchased a big load of fun tart tins from an online vendor, including shapes I have not had before…YAY!!!)

Leave a Reply

