DIY · Ephemera

2014 WoW Christmas Ornament Swap: Set No 5

Today I’ll show you the first set I swapped. This set was made by me for Dianne in Minnesota, USA:

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

I’m in a pastel mood, so no typical red/green around here….lol! I hope this does not clash to much with Diannes other decor, but looking at the ornaments I received, I’m hopefull that mine will fit in her home 🙂

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014 Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014 Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

I have been collecting vintage tart tins and cookie cutters all year, I always look for them at thrift stores and markets. I bought some rare ones (the diamond shapes) from vendors on a Norwegian online marketplace. The round ones are very easy to find, and usually very cheap at thrift stores, since most people consider them useless 😛 The more special shapes are a little harder to find (thus I had to get them online) but still cheap, it does not seem like there is much of a market for exchanging these. I’m one happy bunny, since the supply is so great 😀 All the tart tins I used for this swap were clearly used and worn, before I started working on them. My guess is they are mainly from the 50ies and 60ies.

I made my ornaments combining techniques, so I will write a little about each ornament, and how they were made.
Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014The diamond tart tin was embossed with Ranger Seafoam White embossing powder. I just recently purchased an embossing gun, and I’m having fun embossing everywhere I can think of…lol! I applied an uneven layer of clear embossing ink with a makeup applicator, then sprinkled the powder and grilled it with my gun!

I punched holes both at the top and bottom of the tin, if you have not tried it, you’ll be surprised at how easy these tins are to pierce! I’d compare it to thick cardboard, no harder than that 😀 My regular hole puncher did the job like a star!

Then out comes the glue gun, to attach the bottle cap to the tin (I had prepainted the bottle cap white). The postcard was resized to fit the size of the tart tin, and I hand cut it to remove the background, and keep just the lovely die cut girl and roses. She was glued on top of the bottle cap, and some pink organza ribbon was tied on top to hang the ornament. On the bottom I suspended a glas prism embellishment, that I had glued an image of vintage Christmas roses onto with decoupage glue.

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014The inside of the oval tart tin was embossed and prepared like the first one. The outside was painted an uneven coat of Annie Sloan chalk paint in Old White. I chose to glue a airy white feather to the bottom of the tin, then the cute pink girl with roses. She has been generously sprinkled with glitter too, maybe you can tell…lol 

To hang this ornament I used a tinsel pipecleaner, and on the bottom I attached a genuine vintage Soviet curtain clip, that I purchased online from an Etsy vendor in Latvia. I believe it is not antique, but I’m guessing again from the 50ies or 60ies. And finally I used a piece of The Boston Toy Emporium graphics to create a little flag. The bottom embellishment was attached using a heart bead and a jewelry pin, so I had to apply some of my jewelry making skills and tools too 😛

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

The round ornament was made with diluted Annie Sloan chalk pain in Old White, brushed on unevenly and thin, to create a subtle white-wash on the tin. I then immediately sprinkled cinnamon onto the paint! Tap off excess, and eyeball if you need a little more. If you end up with too much, just rinse it all off with water (before it dries) and start over. 😀 When the paint was dry, I squirted a little paint on top (like two taps with my brush!) 

This process was repeated on both the outside and the inside of the tin (except the squirting, I think I only did that on the inside… Again I glued a bottle cap to the bottom of the tin to elevate my graphics, a cute boy in the snow under a large umbrella, and again the graphics was heavily dusted in glitter… 😛 I glued two of my short paper ribbons to the back of the tin, to create the bow-effect, and hung a little brass jingle bell (bought on Cape Cod, Massachusets in 1988), also roughly painted with (un-diluted) chalk paint.

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

The year 2014 was added to the back of the ornaments with a clear embossing pen and gold embossing powder, and on two of the pieces I also attached my little WoW-logo in a bottlecap frames.

Here is what Dianne said when she received the ornaments:

I am so excited!  A lovely and very full package arrived from you today. Your ornaments are lovely with so much detail, so many little extras. I love the vintage clip and bell hanging from two of the ornaments, the sweet umbrella girl, and the elegant glass baubles and lovely girl holding roses. You obviously have a talent for design, and I am so glad you have chosen to share it with your followers. It is so fun to have these charming ornaments here made by you after seeing your many artful creations on WOW. Your esthetic comes through in everything you do!

Thank you for bringing so much fun and adventure into my life this past year! And thank you for the special handmade and designed ornaments from you to cherish for many Christmases to come! I feel very spoiled, and very blessed.

Awwwww!!! Isn’t she a darling that Dianne!!! 😀 I am so happy she likes my ornaments! 

The full size girl with roses can be found on Tuck DB (click on the small image below):

2011_10_19_11_34_22

I posted the paper ribbon earlier this fall, there are several versions that you can print out and utilize. It will fit on lots of other ornaments too, not only tart tins (click on the image to go the original post and download):

Wings of Whimsy: Short Ribbon Tags #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable  #tags

Did you miss out on the planning of this swap? This is what my swappers signed up for back in September:

  • Each swap is for a set of 3 ornaments. Either 1 tart tin swap or 1 cookie cutter swap, swapped with one swap buddy
  • Deadline November 15th to craft your ornaments, take pictures and get the packages ready
  • Send pictures to me of the finished ornaments
  • Alert me when the swapped ornaments arrive at their new home

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss future posts on WoW:

WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account

Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

I have used the following graphics for these designs:

Boston Toy Emporium No 2 – The Graphics Fairy

Christmas Girl With Roses – Tuck DB

Christmas Roses – Tuck DB

Ribbon Tags – Wings of Whimsy

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

5 thoughts on “2014 WoW Christmas Ornament Swap: Set No 5

  1. Oh my goodness these are soooooooo gorgeous too, and I absolutely LOVE them all. It looks so gorgeous with these “diamonds” hanging from the 2 of them and also that little bell there. I really have to get my eyes open here when ever I get to any recycling stores or anywhere I come, to see if I can´t find some of these real old ones around, as they´re in much more different and fun shapes, that the tiny ones we can buy here of new ones now. I have got sooo many great ideas here by watching all of your s wonderful work here with these tins here, They are just marveless all of them, and I really think, I´m very very much in love with these he he he.
    Have a wonderful 2nd sunday in Advent here ladies and loads of great fun. I´ve been the host at a huge christmas scrapevent on A craft forum, wjhere I´m one of the moderators, all day today,and we´ll keep it going for as long as people are in for it. It´s been really cosy here all day. Hope you´ll have just as much fun everyone.

    1. Hello my Dear 🙂

      Being part of a Christmas scrapevent sound so fun! And totally like something you would enjoy every second of…lol!!! Me, I don’t know. I prefer the solitude of my studio, and writing posts and messages when I want to…lol

      There is about 200 round, regular, tart tin for every special one, but don’t give up, they are out there! And after a while you develop an eye for them, and know instinctively where to look…lol I’m like a tart tin blood hound… ROTFLMAO 😀 xoxoxo

  2. I was facsinated to learn about the many intricacies of your tart tin ornaments! Imagin a curtain hanger from Russia (I love it!), a tiny jingle bell from Massachusets, using embossing powder for texture and cinnamon for an aged look! Even using a painted bottle cap to raise the graphics was an idea I never would have thought of. So much thought went into your lovely tart tin creations. Thank you for sharing your artistry and your tart tin secrets with all of us! Is it too soon to start working on tins for next Christmas? Lol!

    1. Dear Dianne 🙂 Thank you again for your kind words! I don’t think they are secrets, more like preferences I have developed…lol! As for the ideas, I don’t consider myself a scrapper, nor a painter, nor a seamstress.. but I like to fly on the wings of whimsy, combine ideas, and see what happens 😉 If you have Christmas in your heart, it’s always Christmas, and never to late or too early…;-) Another take could be to make Tart Tin Valentine ornies, if you want to sell them, I mean 😉 xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

