2014 WoW Christmas Ornament Swap: Set No 8

Today I’m sharing a fabulous set of Cookie Cutter Ornaments made by Dobie in Texas, USA for Iris in New York State, USA:

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014 Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014 Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

Dobie wrote me a long letter about how these beautiful ornaments came about:

What happened to me on the way to WOW ornament exchange.
I knew right away what I wanted to do for the exchange, as I had fallen in love with the photo Debbie Dusenberry of The Curious Sofa had published on her blog.    http://curioussofa.blogspot.com/2013/04/texas-romance.html
After receiving permission to use the Madonna and Child photo, I got to work. My computer was having a few problems [like the blue screen of death popping up] Before I could print my pics the computer crashed. My son tried to get it going but told me it was gone.
I got a good deal on a new one but ,lo and behold, the program was written by an alien. Win 8.1 makes me feel as if I have never used a computer before. I could not even find a way to turn it off. After several days experimenting with it ,I was ready to print pics for the ornaments.
I turned my printer on and it chattered and coughed for a good 10 minutes but would not print. I got error messages saying the computer could not find the printer. Sent Microsoft Tech a message asking what could be wrong???
The answer, my printer was not compatible with Win 8.1 and I needed to buy a new printer. After a few more days ranting and looking all over the internet for help I called Kodak Tech. He said of course my printer was compatible and he could fix it if I let him have control of my computer. I did and he got it set up and was able to print a text test. He did remark on the chattering and coughing.
I tried to print photos several times with strange results. After several tries and new ink cartridges and more research, I had to face it, my printer had apparently had a stroke and no longer knew how to print.
After several more days of hunting I bought a new printer and finally printed my pics. After that I quickly finished my ornaments.  The ornaments were easy compared to the technical problems. Working on them helped calm my nerves.
I am so excited to get my ornaments from my exchange partner and for her to get mine. This was really fun even with all the obstacles. Thank you for all your work in organizing this swap. Blessings, Dobie
P.S. The cookie cutters are mounted to metal Christmas ornaments that I painted. I spray painted them with flat brown[looks like rust], then dabbed on petroleum jelly where ever I thought it might have chipped over time and then spray painted with white satin paint. Then use paper towel and rub the petroleum jelly off and it will leave the brown exposed, now looking old and chipped.
You may also use candle wax if painting with a brush. The pet. jelly is my favorite as sometimes when rubbing the paint off the wax , it will remove the base coat as well as the top coat . I have used this technique on furniture, lamps, candle holders and just about anything that does not move.

I love the idea of using petroleum jelly when painting to create that shabby chipped look, and I already was out and bought a box of Vaseline, to try it myself! 

Thank you so much Dear Dobie, for participating in the WoW-ornament swap! I am so happy to share your lovely work with everyone here 🙂 I love all 3 ornaments, and I wonder if you did not use one of my Clapsaddle Cherubs for the face of the Christmas fairy? If you want to copy Dobies ornaments, I’m sure you could use them (click on image below to go to original post and download):

Wings of Whimsy: Cherub Paper  - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #printable

Did you miss out on the planning of this swap? This is what my swappers signed up for back in September:

  • Each swap is for a set of 3 ornaments. Either 1 tart tin swap or 1 cookie cutter swap, swapped with one swap buddy
  • Deadline November 15th to craft your ornaments, take pictures and get the packages ready
  • Send pictures to me of the finished ornaments
  • Alert me when the swapped ornaments arrive at their new home

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss future posts on WoW:

WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account

Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

8 thoughts on “2014 WoW Christmas Ornament Swap: Set No 8

  1. Oh my goodness Dobbie, these are soo gorgeous. I just LOVE them, The star is so beautiful, and I´m totlaly in love with the heartone, that´s made like a fuígur too, it´s so soo gorgeous, but in the end, they just all are, as they´re all soo special in different ways.
    Sooo sorry to hear, you had to go through all these terrible technical problems first thoug, and I really wish, we could´ve talked beforehand, cause you could just sooo easily have replaced Windows 8 with the old Windows 7 program, ad it would probably have worked like a dream from the start then. Hubby did that to both his and mine, when we couldn´t avoid the new program anymore, and I can only agree to, that it´s made by aliens too, but as soon as he installed the program from the old computer, we haven´t had anymore problems with anything of that since, so if you get anymore troubles, then just instal the program from your old computer, which is completely legal, as you have bought that program too, when you bought the old computer, and then everything will ofcause work well together again then.
    I wish you all the best of luck with your new computer, and hope, that all your problems are solved, but if you come to anymore, feel free to write me, and I´ll get hubby to explain, what to do, as I´m so luky to be married to a complete computergeek he he he.
    Have a wonderful day everyone and lots of great fun and please enjoy your amazing cutters and tins ladies. It is such a pleasure to see all your amazing work here, thanks so much for sharing them with all of us here.

  2. I am really impressed by all the lovely ornaments this swap has produced. I would have loved to made a few but did not have the tins or time. Perhaps you will make this a yearly tradition and by then I will be ready.

    • Dear SuZi 🙂 I might very well do another swap, I think this has been so much fun, and I am also very, very impressed by the diversity of the resulting ornies! If (when) that happens, I’ll be sure to remind you that you showed interest…lol! xoxoxo

    • You make me laugh Hunny! I know you mean WoW: the ornaments are pretty, but I use WoW as a short version of Wings of Whimsy, reading you comment with that connotation makes it super-cute 😀 lol xoxoxo

  3. My oh my Dobie, what an epic journey you had to make but it was well worth it! These cookie cutter ornaments are amazing and it just shows how our minds work so differently when faced with the same challenge. A brilliant assortment of ornaments so far, I’m really enjoying seeing them all.

    • I second your opinion there Dear, “a brilliant assortment” indeed! I was hoping for creativity and some fun results, but I never expected so many amazing contributions! And not only are the ornaments different, but so many different techniques have been applied, making this such an inspiring learning experience too 😀 xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

