DIY · Ephemera

2014 WoW Christmas Ornament Swap: Set No 9 of 16

With this post we are starting the second half of the Swap series. Here is a set of cookie cutters made by me for Iris in New York State, USA:

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

The cookie cutters I used to create these ornaments were genuinely worn and aged, found at a thrift store, costing next to nothing. (If you click on the images above, you can zoom in quite a lot to see the details). I chose to work with simple vintage graphics. The graphics were resized to fit the cookie cutters, and attached to the back of the cookie cutters using my glue gun. The  graphics were then precisely cut around the shape of each cutter. I left an opening near the top, to thread my ribbon. All the graphics were coated with decoupage glue, and generously dusted with glitter.

For the Angel Star ornament I wanted to create a bit of a “shooting star” feeling, and I liked it so much that I made a similar version on the Christmas Pig ornament. Now you might wonder why there is a Pig ornament? Well, pigs are BIG for Christmas here in Norway, as were they in most of Europe around the turn of the 18th century. Pigs symbolize good fortune! So I chose the pig, both since it represents something typical Norwegian, but also typical Victorian 🙂 The pink seam binding on this ornament is also genuine vintage.

I do not know if the moon-shape also has a symbolic meaning, but I remember that we always made moon cookies for Christmas when I was growing up, so I thought that cutter was a good choice as well 😀 I somehow think the little jingle bell goes well with the moon. This was another of the bells I purchased on Cape Cod, Massachusetts in 1988. I do not know the age of the ribbon I used on this ornament, but it was gifted to me by my friend Ingeborg in Holland, and I enjoy the thought of a small piece of her gift being forwarded to yet another receiver.

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Ornament Swap 2014

The edges and the back of the graphics were inked with a dark brown ink, and the year 2014 was written on each ornament with gold embossing.

I have one special discovery to share with you tonight: remember how I struggled to apply decoupage glue to graphics I have printed on my inkjet printer? When applying the glue, the ink would bleed and cause the graphics to deteriorate… a lot! Well, I solved that problem!

I now run my freshly printed sheets through my laminator, and the heat sets the ink so they can take decoupage glue without a problem! 😀

So if you don’t already have a laminator to laminate, this alone is reason enough for you to pick one up the next time you run across one 😀 (Mine is t-h-e cheapest kind, it cost around 15$)

Click on the images below to download your own copies of the graphics I used:

Wings of Whimsy: Compliments of the Season Sheet - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #christmas #printable

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Digital Christmas Collage #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #typography

And if you want more pigs this season, here is a couple of printables I made last year (click on the images below to download printable banner and tags):

Wings of Whimsy: Merry & Bright Christmas Pigs Bunting - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #printable MerryPigGiftTag_WingsofWhimsy

Or check out my Pinterest board dedicated to vintage pigs (click on below preview to see the entire board):

Pinterest: DIY Vintage PigsDid you miss out on the planning of this swap? This is what my swappers signed up for back in September:

  • Each swap is for a set of 3 ornaments. Either 1 tart tin swap or 1 cookie cutter swap, swapped with one swap buddy
  • Deadline November 15th to craft your ornaments, take pictures and get the packages ready
  • Send pictures to me of the finished ornaments
  • Alert me when the swapped ornaments arrive at their new home

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss future posts on WoW:

WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account

Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

In addition I used the following graphics for my cookie cutters:

Angel – The Doodle Place

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

2 thoughts on “2014 WoW Christmas Ornament Swap: Set No 9 of 16

  1. Oh my goodness, how could I miss these beauties here too?? They´re soo beautiful too hun. I just love these as well, they´re just stunning work just like the tins you made too, and I just love them. You are an incredible artist and I simply love your wonderful works here, and I really hope, I´ll be able to find some of all these here, so I at least can get some made for next year, as I´ve really fallen in love with these, especially after I´ve seen all the Stunning creations here for the swap. It´s been such a pleasure to watch all these amazing makings here from all you clever ladies.

    1. Awww, thank you for the lovely words, what a beautiful encouragement! Surely you can get cookie cutters, brand new ones if you must? Just toss them in Diannes Magic Juice and they’ll look old and worn in no time…:-P lol

Leave a Reply

