Uncategorized

The 2014 WoW Year of Crafts

On this very last day of 2014 I am looking back on the year behind me.

It has been a year where I have grown tremendously as an artist, in fact, I have learned so much this year, I did not even think it would be possible! And I owe all that to you, my readers! Had I not started this blog back in 2013, and stuck with it as an outlet for my creative whimsies, I would have never learned all the things I now know!

  • This year I have learned and experimented with several mixed media techniques, always combining things Β my own way.
  • I have learned and perfected several of my photoshop skills, which help me provide you with new free graphics!
  • I have taken a giant leap into sharing my various DIY-projects with everyone, often times paired with ready made printables.
  • I have hoarded thrifted more than ever, and have grown my stash of both vintage items to make over, and of all sorts of embellishments and tools to do it with, like a new Mac, a new iPhone, a new iPad, a Big Shot, an embossing gun, hey I even own a brayer now!!
  • I have developed a curiosity about if I could make money on my crafts. For starters I hope this curiosity will push me to try selling some stuff at markets in 2015.
  • Unfortunately all of the above mean less time for posting “pure” scans from my albums. Also, since I was anxiously working with my old Mac until late October, I had no room for new scans left on it, and since I got my new Mac up and running, I have only been occupied with the Seasonal stuff. But I promise, scanning new stuff is now top of my list!Β 
  • I have a new STUDIO (since about July!) During the summer I rearranged my house, and finally have a nice big room as a studio. I’ve been trying ever since to get around to taking pictures and showing it to you guys, but for some reason it is always such a creative chaos going on here…lol
  • I have made some wonderful new friends this year! I need to mention both Maryann in Denmark, Ingeborg in Holland, Dianne and Dobie in USA! With all the writing we have done to each other, I now consider you friends, ya hear!!! πŸ˜€
  • Paper is and will remain my main medium, but I really enjoy combining it with all kinds of other whimsies πŸ˜€

My main 2014 projects were:

THE LOVE CIRCUS

Wings of Whimsy: Valentine Love Circus Pierrot & Pierrette - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #freebie Wings of Whimsy: Love Circus - free printables #vintage #valentine #freebie Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Valentine Love Circus

45 VALENTINE HEARTS

Wings of Whimsy: Valentine Hearts Small - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #printable #freebie #valentine #cherub #heart

THE VINTAGE SEWING ROOM

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Sewing Room Project

EASTER PEAT POTS

Wings of Whimsy: Easter Peat Pots - free for personal use #vintage #printable #scraps #ephemera #freebie #easter

Wings of Whimsy: Easter Decoupage - #diy #napkins #easter

GENEALOGY PROJECT

Wings of Whimsy: Easter Decoupage - #diy #napkins #easter

Wings of Whimsy: Ingeborg Brynestad Ca 1895 - free for personal use #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #photo

EMBROIDERED PAPER

Wings of Whimsy: DIY French Embroidery Tags #vintage #ephemera #printable #freebie #diy Wings of Whimsy: DIY Embroidered Heart Tags #vintage #ephemera #printable #freebie #diy Wings of Whimsy: BONHEUR French Embroidery Garland #vintage #ephemera #printable #freebie

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 2 - CREATE Embroidered Garland

OLD BOOKS CRAFTS

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 1 - Heart Garland

Wings of Whimsy - DIY Old Book Crafts No 6A - Sweet Pea Journal

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 5 - Rose Lanterns Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 4 - Accordion Organizer Wings of Whimsy: DIY Book Crafts No 3 - INSPIRE Printed Garland

Wings of Whimsy - DIY Old Book Crafts No 7 - Rose Pin Wheels Wings of Whimsy: DIY Old Book Crafts No 8 - Queen At Home Stationery Folder

DECOUPAGE ANYTHING

Decoupaged Tired Thrift Find Tray August 2014 Decoupaged Metal Tins Wings of Whimsy: Decoupaged Sewing Machine Hard Top #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #sewing Wings of Whimsy: Decoupaged Power Strip Decoupaged Tiny Shelf August 2014 Wings of Whimsy: Decoupaged Metal Trays Decoupaged Letter Organizers September 2014 Wings of Whimsy: Decoupaged Clothes Pins #diy #tutorial #decoupage #napkin

PAPER DOLL ANGELS

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Vintage Wrapping - Square & Simple

VINTAGE WRAPPING

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Vintage Wrapping - Square & Simple

NORGESGLASS SNOW GLOBES AND LANTERNS

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Snow Globes #freebie #printable #ephemera #christmas #victorian

Wings of Whimsy: Snow Children Lantern #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #lantern

Wings of Whimsy: Secret Christmas Angels #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable

Wings of Whimsy: 1896 Boston Sunday Globe - Little Miss Silver Skates #freebie #printable #ephemera #christmas #victorian

CHRISTMAS ORNAMENT SWAP

Swap2014_WoW

THE HOTEL – PETRINE’S JUL

Petrine's Gjestgiveri
Petrine’s Gjestgiveri, Norddal, Norway

As if all of this wasn’t keeping me busy, I also crafted decorations for a hotel for the Holiday Season, and got to re-create my Christmas Village and the entire set of Christmas Cones from last year, plus loads of Norgesglass Snow Globes πŸ˜€

My friend Susanne is running the small vintage style hotel, off the main tourist routes, but even more authentic and charming, called Petrine’s Gjestgiveri in Norddal, Norway. She loved my Village so much last year, she wanted to use it at the hotel this year! I had several people join a workshop, but it still took a full 12 hours to craft everything πŸ˜€

Wings of Whimsy: Petrine's Jul 2014
Christmas Workshop at Petrine’s, with Berit, me and Solgunn
Wings of Whimsy: Petrine's Jul 2014
Some of the decorations made at the Christmas Workshop
Wings of Whimsy: Petrine's Jul 2014 Tag
Petrine’s Jul 2014 – Custom Made Tag
Wings of Whimsy: Petrine's Jul 2014
Petrine’s Jul 2014
Wings of Whimsy: Petrine's Jul 2014
Petrine’s Jul 2014
Wings of Whimsy: Petrine's Jul 2014
Petrine’s Jul 2014
Wings of Whimsy: Petrine's Jul 2014
Petrine’s Jul 2014

And this was only the major projects! Tucked in between all of these were all sorts of goodies, scans and printables! And much, much graphics added to the Exclusive folder too!

All in all, I am very, very pleased with my craft year 2014! Looking back, I can’t believe how much I accomplished, and in the middle of all this I completed my masters degree, got a new job, and worked close to two jobs in November and December… I guess the word is: WoW…lol!

I can not fully describe how it makes me feel to see my vintage scans and whimsical designs customized and used, all over the world, but I can say it touches me deeply, and makes all my hard work worth it for a whole new set of reasons! I’d be designing and crafting for myself and my friends & family regardless of this blog, but I now put extra effort into my designs to make them worth sharing, easy to understand and printer-friendly. It also takes a lot of time to take and edit the photos I use here, and to manage all the different files and uploads I need to operate.

On New Year’s Eve one year ago, this blog had just passed 50.000 views. Tonight I can account for almost 245.000 views, so my number has quintupled in one year!!! Again I point to Pinterest for much of the traffic increase, as well as Free Digital Stamps, who very dedicatedly shares many of my whimsical creations! But my list of followers has also grown, and there is now 580 confirmed followers. I did not take proper notes last New Years Eve, but I believe the number then was around 100.Β 

Thank you to each and every one of you who have followed me this year, wether you have read most posts or just occasionally dropped in!

Thank you Harbin! I belive you have liked EVERY SINGLE POST I shared this year! It really means a lot to me to receive your likes, it’s like a stamp of approval πŸ˜€ And please know that I read and enjoy all your posts πŸ™‚

  • Thank you for all your likes!
  • Thank you for all your comments!
  • Thank you for all your emails!
  • Thank you for downloading my images and printables and using them in your own art!
  • Thank you for trying my whimsical DIY projects!!!

Best wishes to All Of You

for a prosperous, creative and happy New Year!

Love&Light

Gunnvor Karita

15 thoughts on “The 2014 WoW Year of Crafts

  1. Wow, indeed! I have only just recently discovered your blog and your creations, so I have a lot of browsing back through older posts to enjoy. Your accomplishments this year are an inspiration! Thank you for sharing the wonderful items that you have put so much effort into developing. If I get some nice things made (rather than just collecting supplies, ha ha!) I will try to send you some photos. All the best to you in 2015!

    1. I knew it! There had to be others like me, who also collect supplies…lol! I choose to believe collecting supplies is essential to actually starting the projects! Every time I lack something for my projects, they are delayed and backlogged…lol But when I can sift through my stash and find what I need (and I never know ahead of time!) the projects move so much more smoothly πŸ˜€ I wish you a fabulous and creative New Year 2015 πŸ˜€

  2. you should be happy to hear that my husband and I will be wearing your valentine masks to ring in 2015 here in the usa. party for the new year at a friend’s house and she said to wear a mask. these came to mind immediately. as you can tell I really enjoy your work. thanks for sharing it with us.

    1. I am thrilled to hear that! I’d love to see pictures (as always) and I will not share them here unless you let me πŸ˜€ Best wishes for a Grand party and a fabulous New Year 2015 πŸ˜€ xoxoxo

      1. was hoping to send one this am but all the party goers are terribly sleepy this am. as soon as I get a pic I will send them on. they worked really well. we had to cut the whole eye out to see best. fun party and a lot of people thought they were cool. hope you had a great start to 2015!

      2. YAY! I’m so happy to hear that the masks were a success πŸ˜€ Did you back them with crafting foam as I suggested in the original post, or did you just craft them from paper? When you again are feeling awake, please send me a picture πŸ™‚ My email can be found by clicking on my avatar at the bottom of each post πŸ˜‰ I was up half night designing new stuff for 2015, so I had a GREAT start to the New Year πŸ˜€ xoxoxo

      3. I backed them with fun foam just as you suggested, I have not seen the pics yet. my friend is a photographer but is so slow putting them on fb for me to grab one. I will send one as soon as she or another friend posts on her wall. I also used a name tag holder elastic with metal prongs on the end to keep it on our heads. I hid the metal between the two layers. can’t wait for you to see it… I can’t wait for me to see it too.

  3. Thank you so much Gunnvor for all your lovely posts and projects and so on, I enjoy them every time !!
    Through the last 2 years I have made many items with your superbe printables !!

    For you, your two adorable daughters and all your loved ones, the very best wishes for a fabulous 2015 !!
    Looking forward to see what your gifts to us (your fans) in 2015 will be.

    Have a very joyfull ”rutsch” into the new year, Anita (from Holland)

    1. Thank you so much Anita πŸ™‚ I don’t know what will turn up here on WoW in 2015, but I’m sure it will be a lot, and hopefully more fun and inspirational stuff πŸ˜€ Best wishes for a fabulous 2015 for you and your family! xoxoxo

  4. You have accomplished so much this year, you should be very proud! Thank you for all your inspiration and wonderful downloads. Happy New Year.

    1. Thank you so much Dear Rose! I got such a boost out of creating the summary, it serves to remind myself too about the road I have walked this year πŸ™‚ I’m inspired, and already onto new stuff for 2015 πŸ˜€ Happy New Year to you and your loved ones πŸ˜€ xoxoxo

  5. Wow, what wonderful projects from you during 2014! They are all so exquisite and inspirational.Thank you so much for sharing it with us all. Can’t wait to see your projects for 2015 – you are truly an inspiration.
    Amelia

    1. Another comment from January 5th… and no answer from me :-O I’m so very sorry, I did not receive notifications from WordPress that day 😦 Thank you, thank you, thank you for your lovely comment! I am very pleased to read it now, 6 days later…lol!

      I love to create, and I have fun sharing some of my projects here. I can’t wait to see what I come up with either, I never know…lol!

      I plan to open my albums and scan some Valentine images in the next week, just thought I’d give you a heads up, so you know to stop by, if you are celebrating Valentine’s Day in South Africa? It’s not really big in Norway, but I love it and the majority of my postcard collection is Valentine cards…lol!! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

