DIY · Ephemera

Valentine Sweethearts – Part I

My Valentine Project 2015 is taking form. This year I am going to combine my interest for genealogy with making a cute display for the Valentine celebration. I am going to put all my ancestors in romantic vintage frames:

Wings of Whimsy: Die Cut Heart Frames #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentine Wings of Whimsy: Die Cut Heart Frames #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentine

The first two frames in my Valentine set up are two pairs of my Great-Great Grandparents! They were married in 1867 and 1876, these are the only pictures I have of them, taken at old age. 

I used a new font that appeared in my Photoshop when I installed the newest version, it is called Snell Roundhand Black. You might be able to find a similar font for free if you search for free fonts.

I am adding my images digitally, then printing the finished images on matte photo paper (Canon 170g matte photo paper). I then glue the images to thin cardboard (cereal box) with spray glue, before I cut them out. This makes for nice and stiff images, that I can hang, erect with an easel or even just lean agains something (similar to cabinet cards).

I have lined up both frames on a collage sheet for you, ready to pint and cut. If you choose this method, you might have to cut away the inner gilded borders, or go crazy trying to preserve them… hehe:

Wings of Whimsy: Die Cut Heart Frames #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentine

Find your high quality copy of the file in the download folder, free for your personal use and enjoyment 🙂

Download Printable

If you wish to have the frames as digital PNG-files (transparent background), please follow my reference links below to go to the original posts.

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss any future posts:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

I have used elements from the following sources for this design:

Die Cut Heart Frame 1 – Wings of Whimsy

Die Cut Heart Frame 2 – Wings of Whimsy

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

12 thoughts on “Valentine Sweethearts – Part I

    1. Thank you Sweetie 🙂 I’m very excited about this idea, I get to combine so many of my interest into one project! 🙂 I already have a wall in mind where I’ll hang these permanently after Valentine’s Day 😀 Who says they have to be in fancy frames when the mats are so pretty??? lol xoxoxo

  1. Love your ideas of framing the ancestors. hubby recently started the family tree. great way for me to help contribute to the search and organize. thanks.

    1. YAY! This project will be perfect for you then! If you don’t want to use it for Valentine’s celebrations, these ideas will be just as lovely for a special album with your ancestors 🙂 You can of course incorporate the whole sha-bam of scrapbooking tricks and techniques too 😀 xoxoxo

  2. Wonderful idea!! Curiously, i’m a fan of genealogy too, and sometime ago I made something similar with my ancestrals. The result was a lovely picture with my loved ones.

    A big hug

    Alexandra Roldão

    1. Dear Alexandra! Great minds think alike eh? lol Even with all the time spent on Pinterest, I came up with this idea all by myself. What is more romantic than the photos of all your ancestors, they who made YOU possible in this world? Of course adding a little hearts, some pink and pretty flowers to the black&white photos makes them even sweeter 😀 xoxoxo

  3. Funny how we all think alike, when it comes to these things here. I actually just sat and thought about, how awesome these would look, if you made a huge tree on a wall somewhere, either it´s painted or cut out in cardstock or maybe even plywood, and then printed these out small, and added them all to the tree, so you made your entire family back as long as you could fit space for, at least with your own line LOL. I wouldn´t find space to get my entire family up anywhere, as we have found all the way back to 1330, and there´s sooo many, that no wall would be big enough, but maybe the last generations would look great too.

    1. I love the idea of a tree, but I think maybe then you would have to stick with only a few layouts, so the overall appearance is not too busy…:-P But these two frames would definitely work well for that, and a couple of the frames coming up later in this series too 🙂

      I was talking to my oldest daughter (age 12) last night about these, and I asked her to calculate how many grandparents she has. She was amazed to learn that she (and everyone else) actually has 32 great-great-great-grandparents (which is the generation these pictures would be for her). So I were to make a wall tree, I’d stop at MY great-great-grandparents (this generation) and leave room for adding my descendants.

      I also told her about the loss of ancestors: which most people will find if their ancestors come from rural areas. When you move back to the 1800s and earlier, people were not so mobile, and also keeping farms and estates within the family was an issue. Thus the generations would repeatedly marry into the same families. When I go back on my lines, I find many such ancestor losses, the most recent is that of my two great-great grandfathers Nils (depicted here) and Ola, They were brothers, and therefore I only have 30, rather than 32 great-great-great grandparents!

      Just a note of curiosity, for those interested in genealogy…lol

      Have a wonderful day Sweete! xoxoxo

      1. It is soo true, and I think, we were lucky because we were (back then LOL) out of a pretty welthy family, that owned quite a big part of Denmark back then, so our family has actually always been travelling a lot, and married to people abroad, so we have a really interesting family. As I said, we´ve had a profesional to make it some years ago, and they found our ancisters all the way back to 1340 or about there, and we´re related to as fine people as several queens and kings throughout Europe, and loads of countesses and the likes, but unfortunately as in any families, there were also some not soo nice people among them, so we also have the thiefts and bastards, who also managed to ruin the entire family back in the 18th century, so today we´re just pretty averidge people, with absolutly no more money, than we make ourself by hard work ha ha ha. Even it could´ve been nice, if they had saved just a tiny bit for us here these days too, but they didn´t, so we´ll have to do with what we can make ourself ha ha ha.
        But it is definitely interesting reading, that´s for sure.

Leave a Reply

