DIY · Ephemera

Valentine Sweethearts – Part III

I simply had to include the picture of my Great-Great-Great Grandfather Harald! I do not have a picture of his wife Oline, but there probably never was one. Harald was born in 1828, and married Oline in 1850. She died in 1866, only 38 years old. Harald had his picture taken at old age, most likely for two reasons; he was a prominent man of our hometown, having been the mayor for several periods, and his son Amund (whom you saw yesterday) was the current mayor when cameras were starting to appear. Thus the whole family was photographed, including Harald, probably very close to the end of his life (1898):

Wings of Whimsy: Die Cut Rose Frame #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentine

I am adding my photos digitally, then printing the finished image on matte photo paper (Canon 170g matte photo paper). I then glue the image onto thin cardboard (cereal box) with spray glue, before I cut it out. After cutting I also distress and ink the edges and corners, for a vintage, worn look. This makes for a nice and stiff image, that I can hang, erect with an easel or even just lean agains something (similar to cabinet cards).

The font is Snell Roundhand Black, it came with my latest Photoshop update. You might be able to find a similar font for free if you search for free fonts.

Here is the frame ready to print for you, if you wish to add pictures manually, or as a PNG-file (transparent background) if you wish to add pictures digitally:

Wings of Whimsy: Die Cut Rose Frame #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentineWings of Whimsy: Die Cut Rose Twin Frame PNG-file (transparent background) #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentine

And finally the single frame as PNG-file:

Wings of Whimsy: Die Cut Rose Frame PNG-file (transparent background) #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentine

Find your high quality copies of the files in the download folder, free for your personal use and enjoyment 🙂

Download Printable

If you wish to have the original image I worked with, please follow my reference link below to go to the source of this wonderful photo mat! Don’t forget to leave a little blog love (a comment) for the lady who provided such amazing graphics!

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss any future posts:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

I have used elements from the following sources for this design:

Printable Valentine Graphics – Lark Crafts

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

6 thoughts on “Valentine Sweethearts – Part III

  1. ore beautiful frames here for the family tree, that´s for sure. Just beautiful and gorgeous made with all the beautiful details on too.

    1. Thank you Sweetie 🙂 I am now considering taking commissions from people who would like to have their ancestors in romantic frames, and don’t know (or want) to do it themselves…lolol!! xoxoxo

  2. How do you add pictures? If you are using a photo shop which one? I have a mac and would love to do this!!! Thanks!

  3. I ask a question and guess there is a reply but can’t see it unless I get a web page. I don’t need a web page and don’t want to et one up. I’m glad to follow yours. Is there some other way to get your response?

    1. Dear Terri 🙂

      You should see my answer here. But keep in mind that WoW is only a personal blog, I don’t have a professional business. So I’m screening all comments from people who have not posted before, and it might take a while for you to get an answer. Normally I try to answer within a day or two, but right now I’m on vacation with my girls…:-P

      I’m sorry, but I’m probably not the right person to explain how to use Photoshop! If you already have Photoshop on your computer, I recommend you take a class, either sign up for one locally where you live, or search the web (youtube?) for tutorials on the specific issues you are after. If you don’t have Photoshop, I recommend trying Picmonkey, a free editing site, where you upload the various imagery you wish to combine, and simply play around with them until you are happy with the result.

      Here is a link to a post where I’m referring to Picmonkey (or rather the tutorial TGF posted about the site): https://wingsofwhimsy.wordpress.com/2014/09/08/golden-angel-wings-free-png-files-and-printables/

      I hope this helps, and I’m sorry I’m not able to go into details about Photoshop.

      Love&Light
      Gunnvor Karita 🙂

      1. You are fantastic this is just what I’ve been looking for! Thank you and have a great vacation!!!!!

Leave a Reply

