DIY · Ephemera

Valentine Sweethearts – Part VIII

My Grandfather Kåre was born to my Great-Grandparents Peggy Eugenie and Adolf Margido in 1925. He married my Grandmother Gunvor in 1948:

Wings of Whimsy: Rose Album Mat #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentine

Kåre was 23 and Gunvor was 21 when they got married. Gunvor was only 43 years old when her first grandchild (me) was born, younger than I am now!!! They were later divorced, and growing up I remember I did not know of anyone else who were divorced, so it secretly made me feel a little special. Yet we did not speak loudly about it, in my rural hometown of Hornindal divorces were unheard of and completely unthinkable in the 70ies!

I only met my Grandfather a couple of times, and although I visited my Grandmother in Trondheim several times, I can’t say that I knew her well. I’m hoping that one day I will get a chance to do some research on who they were and trace the places they all came from! After all, I am carrying her name 😀 Sadly I have  no proper image of her parents Gudrun and Nils, so that is also on my genealogy “wishlist”!

I am adding my photos digitally, then printing the finished image on matte photo paper (Canon 170g matte photo paper). I then glue the image onto thin cardboard (cereal box) with spray glue, before I cut it out. After cutting I also distress and ink the edges and corners, for a vintage, worn look. This makes for a nice and stiff image, that I can hang, erect with an easel or even just lean agains something (similar to cabinet cards).

The font is Snell Roundhand Black, it came with my latest Photoshop update. You might be able to find a similar font for free if you search for free fonts.

Here is a low resolution preview of the ready to print frame. Print it out and add the picture manually, or use the PNG-file (transparent background) to add pictures digitally:

Wings of Whimsy: Rose Album Mat #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentine

Find your high quality copy of the file in the download folder, free for your personal use and enjoyment 🙂

Download PrintableI have also added a family tree to my project, the tree I have used is neither vintage nor free, but if you want to buy it you can find it HERE:

Wings of Whimsy: My Family Tree Chart

I have marked the people we have covered so far with hearts, including todays main persons Gunvor and Kåre. 

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss any future posts:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

I have used elements from the following sources for these design:

Vintage Rose Album Mat – Sofi on Flickr

Winged Heart – The Old Design Shop

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

6 thoughts on “Valentine Sweethearts – Part VIII

  1. What an awesome and elegant couple, you show us here today sweet friend. Their wedding picture is absolut gorgeous and the frame, you´ve chosen is just sooooooooo soo beautiful. I really love this one, sooo elegant and delicat the same time and will definitely work really well for many other projects too, at least in my world t will ha ha ha.
    I love everything you´ve shared here through this, and even I didn´t get to comment the last couple of days, (I´ve had the girls AND my new little grandson all week-end, and they don´t leave too much computer time he he he) I have just read and checked it all, and I´ve really lvoed, what I saw inhere. Soo many beautiful frames, you´ve created here sweet friend.
    Have a wonderful week ahead now and loaads of great fun with it.

    1. If I had a baby boy to take care of all weekend, I’d surely not be neither on the computer nor crafting! lol I’m kind of pleased that I don’t have to take care of a baby all the time, but for a weekend or a few days I’d gladly put everything else aside! What a treat 😀 They are just so amazing, and would you know, available (to borrow) babies are hard to come by! lol Lucky you!! I’ll probably be well over 60 before I get to have grandchildren…lol! So many years to wait for another baby in the family 😛 I wish you a wonderful week to Sweetie 🙂 xoxoxo

    1. Thank you Carrie 🙂 Yes, but I had to become a mother myself and loose most of them before I started taking proper interest! I so wish I had payed better attention while they were still around! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

