Valentine Sweethearts – Part IX

When my grandparents at Bakke got married, they had already had a prolonged engagement. My Grandmother bore her first child some time in the years to follow. The child was a boy, and he did not survive being born. They named him Nils, and nearly never talked about him again.

Their second son was born in 1943, in the middle of the war years. My Grandma was 34 years old, and this was to be their only child. They named him Nils Håkon, Nils after both his  grandfathers, and Håkon after the Norwegian king.

My father met my mother Gretha in 1968. She was an elegant city girl, in training to become a seamstress. They got married in 1969, she was 20, he was 26:

Wings of Whimsy: Rose Album Mat #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentine

I designed the above mat using elements from various other mats I have collected, so you will not find it anywhere else!

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

I am taking this opportunity to remind my readers that ALL my digital files are copyrighted! Although some of the original images are in public domain, thus can be altered by me and shared with you, my digital files are not! International copyright is established automatically under the 1989 Bern-convention. I am happy to share files with you for personal use, but I am not revoking my copyright over the material! Even though it is “only” a scan of some olde postcard, I have worked on the file cleaning up the image, cropping, aligning. This makes the file MY property and you can’t sell it or share it as your own, or use it directly to craft items for sale. 

Some people have expressed they are not happy with me claiming copyright over my own files, and feel I should give them away totally free for ANY use. If you are not happy with accessing my files for personal use only, please leave my site! If you still decide to take my files and share them as your own, or sell them without my permission, please know that you are breaking international laws, and can be criminally pursued accordingly!

To all my lovely readers who would never dream of abusing my files: you are free to use my files for your personal use and enjoyment! This always includes printing them for yourself or for gifting your handmade items. Since I started Wings of Whimsy, I have been asked many times if handmade items can be sold using specific files I have shared. I will happily answer your specific questions, and I try my best to say yes, but only when I am very certain we would not be infringing upon someone else’s copyright by doing so! Please write me with your inquiry if you are interested in crafting items for sale with my files.

Here is another peak of my Valentine Sweethearts Display, my parents in the middle, and both my grandparents on either side:

Wings of Whimsy: Valentine Sweethearts Display #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentine

I am adding my photos digitally, then printing the finished image on matte photo paper (Canon 170g matte photo paper). I then glue the image onto thin cardboard (cereal box) with spray glue, before I cut it out. After cutting I also distress and ink the edges and corners, for a vintage, worn look. This makes for a nice and stiff image, that I can hang, erect with an easel or even just lean agains something (similar to cabinet cards).

The font is Snell Roundhand Black, it came with my latest Photoshop update. You might be able to find a similar font for free if you search for free fonts.

Here is a low resolution preview of the ready to print frame. Print it out and add the picture manually, or use the PNG-file (transparent background) to add pictures digitally:

Wings of Whimsy: Rose Album Mat #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #valentine

Find your high quality copy of the file in the download folder, free for your personal use and enjoyment 🙂

Download PrintableI have also added a family tree to my project, the tree I have used is neither vintage nor free, but if you want to buy it you can find it HERE:

Wings of Whimsy: My Family Tree Chart

I have marked the people we have covered so far with hearts, including todays main persons Gretha and Nils. 

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss any future posts:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

I have used elements from the following sources for these design:

Winged Heart – The Old Design Shop

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

8 thoughts on “Valentine Sweethearts – Part IX

  1. Gunnvor – I love your mats and want to use a couple but I can’t figure out how to enter my photo within the mat prior to printing – as you have said you do. Any suggestions? Deb N

    • I’m using Photoshop for this myself. If you don’t have photo editing software like that, you will either have to print it out and add your photo after printing, or try online photo editing.

      Picmonkey might be a possibility for simple online editing! The free version will not let you add shadows and effects, like I can with photoshop, but it will let you layer, resize and align your images into a collage.

      I am not the right person to teach you using Picmonkey, but I know The Graphics Fairy had a tutorial on layering that I have referred to before, here: https://wingsofwhimsy.wordpress.com/2014/09/08/golden-angel-wings-free-png-files-and-printables/

      Unfortunately digital editing, regardless of what software you use requires some training to master…:-P

      Please let me know how this goes, and write me again if you need help with this! I plan to offer my photoshop services for customizing these for anyone who want their relatives framed and ready to print, but I will have to charge a fee for that service… 😉 xoxoxo

  2. We, my granddaughter and I have always enjoyed your site and believe you are perfectly correct to copy right your material. Thank you for all your hard work in making your art so wonderful and easy to down load. We love creating special gifts for our family using your unique designs….

    • Thank you Barbie 🙂 I hope you will continue to visit and enjoy my future projects too 🙂 I’m making my download system very transparent, thinking this is how I would have appreciated it to look if I were the visitor 😉 xoxoxo

  3. Your parents are such a soooo sooo beautiful couple too, and now I can see, where you and the girls have their beautiful looks from, and I really like the frame, you´ve used for them here too. Just beautiful work as always sweetie, and thanks so much for sharing your wonderful work with us here always.

    • Awww, thank you Hunny! They say I resemble my father the most, especially the smile. Guro is also taking after my paternal side. While we think Torunn resembles my mother more. One day I will print a recent picture of her and actually compare with the picture of her grandparents and great-grandparents in their prime! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

