DIY · Norwegian

DIY Mason Jar Lids Rhubarb Pie

I bet you did not think you would EVER see a food post from me eh? Well you were a-l-m-o-s-t right, but every once in a while there is a recipe that yields…lol So I’m going to share this one with you, since it utilizes the lids of my beloved vintage Norgesglass (Norwegian Mason Jars):

Wings of Whimsy: Mason Jar Lids Rhubarb Pie #norgesglass #mason #jar #lid #pai

I wish I could have served these in the canopy on my deck sitting on my revamped garden furniture, but it has been another couple of days of rain…:-( And everyone I could have invited have left town for their summer vacations. So I ran over to my neighbors with a platter of these, straight from the oven, I could not eat ALL of them alone…lol

The Pie Recipe (that yields!!!)

  • 400 g rhubarb
  • 4 dl rolled oats
  • 2 dl white flour
  • 2 dl brown sugar
  • 200 g margarine
  • 1 tbsp potato starch (I’m sure corn starch is a viable option)

Cut the rhubarb into suitable size pieces. (Alternatively strawberries, apples or a mix of raspberries and blueberries, smaller berries (like blueberries) can be used “as is”). I sprayed some pan grease on my Norgesglass lids, but I think that step was not entirely necessary. In case they would spill I put a piece of baking paper, to avoid a messy clean up…:-P I’m always prepared for the worst, when it comes to kitchen stuff…lol

Wings of Whimsy: Mason Jar Lids Rhubarb Pie #norgesglass #mason #jar #lid #pai

Norgesglass have glas lids, but you can use the metal Mason Jar lids too, just remember to place it so the rubber faces down, away from your pie!

I then divided my rhubarb into the 11 lids I was able to fit on my tray, and sprinkled the starch on top:

Wings of Whimsy: Mason Jar Lids Rhubarb Pie #norgesglass #mason #jar #lid #pai

Yes, I peeled my rhubarbs, I think that step is a-l-s-o not necessary, I just wanted to make sure…lol

Then I mixed all the dry ingredients and added melted butter:

Wings of Whimsy: Mason Jar Lids Rhubarb Pie #norgesglass #mason #jar #lid #pai

I divided the crumbled topping onto my 11 pies, and baked them in the preheated oven at 200′ Celsius, for 30 minutes:

Wings of Whimsy: Mason Jar Lids Rhubarb Pie #norgesglass #mason #jar #lid #pai

I served them (to my neighbors and myself) with vanilla flavored quark. And they tasted YUMMY SUMMER, and looked adorable in the single serving jar lids 🙂 (I ate 3 in my loneliness and sudden abundance of mini pies…lol)

I think vanilla ice cream, or whipped cream or even a spoonful of sour cream would be good alternatives to serve with these 🙂

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss any future posts:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

5 thoughts on “DIY Mason Jar Lids Rhubarb Pie

  1. These look so good , The Quark intrigued me so of course I had to Google it.
    Wikipedia says it is like cottage cheese. However,Noelle Carter writes for the Daily Dish column in the Los Angeles Times says Quark is a wonderful creamy cheese that’s kind of similar to a mascarpone meets a sour cream meets a yogurt. Sounds wonderful.
    I plan to try making Quark
    by her instructions.

    1. Hiya Hunny! It is not even close to cottage cheese, but I agree with the last description 🙂 We buy quark at the grocery store, in several different flavors, and I love it! Mascarpone would definitely also be a good option with these pies, but it is very expensive here :-O Please let me know how your quark endeavor pans out! 🙂 xoxoxo

  2. I too was wondering what quark was. These sound wonderful, I love all things rhubarb. I need to try this, thanks.

    1. You can try the recipe in a large pie pan, and Obie has since let me know that making the quark herself was really easy and turned out yummy, so if you can find the instructions she is referring to, you might be able to make it too. Apparently it just takes a little patience, since the ingredients need a few days to form the quark 😛 xoxoxo

  3. QUARK CHEESE
    In a stainless steel, heavy-bottomed saucepan, bring 2 cups whole or skim milk to a simmer over medium heat [86F (30C).]. Remove from heat and set aside until the milk is cooled. Whisk in 1/2 cup cultured buttermilk..
    Transfer the mixture to a glass, or plastic container, and set aside covered at room temperature until the mixture is thickened, with a consistency similar to yogurt, about 1 day. 12-15 hours.
    next day; Transfer the mixture to a cheesecloth-lined strainer set over a bowl. Refrigerate overnight to drain the whey from the cheese; the whey should be clear, not cloudy, as it is drained. Use as desired. To store, place the cheese in a glass, ceramic or plastic container. Cover and refrigerate up to four days. makes 1 cup cheese. Leave plain or add flavoring of your choice .I added 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1 tsp sugar substitute.

Leave a Reply

