DIY · Ephemera

Christmas Cherub Mobile – Part 1 of 4

One of the projects I created for this Holiday Season is a Christmas Cherub Mobile:

IMG_4331
Enter a caption

There are several parts to this mobile, so I’ll be sharing the different parts over a few days, if you would like to make your own.

First out are the Christmas Chimes:

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Cherub Mobile #diy #freebie #printable #christmasWings of Whimsy: Christmas Cherub Mobile #diy #freebie #printable #christmas

I also made a second all pink version of these:

Wings of Whimsy: Christmas Cherub Mobile #diy #freebie #printable #christmasIMG_4320

The frame I used for my mobile is a medium size thrifted lamp shade, stripped of original fabric. I then tore approx 1,5 inch wide strips of red&white ticking striped fabric. I used my glue gun to attach the fabric on one end, wrapped it a few times around each section and secured it again with the glue gun at the other end. Meaning each section of the lamp shade frame is done individually, but this was still a quick and easy project, I think the whole thing took me about 1 hour. I wanted the finished frame to resemble peppermint stick candy – do you think I succeeded?

I printed Christmas sheet music to the back of the paper, before cutting out the chimes. Julie at The Old Design Shop has a nice selection of Christmas sheet music HERE. And Angie at Knick of Time offers a nice selection HERE (scroll down to music).

The die cut paper ornaments are then hung with little hooks I made with metal wire. You can also  use string, but I find that wire hangs nicer and allows for more movement on the mobile.

The files are free for your personal use and enjoyment. Go to the download folder below to grab your high quality copies 🙂

Download Printable

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss any future posts:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

I used elements from the following source for this design:

1888 Christmas Chime – Knick of Time

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Christmas Cherub Mobile – Part 1 of 4

    1. Thank you Margie 🙂 I think gift tags would be neat, you could add some glitter and embellish them more too, to make a truly handmade item. And the receivers might like them enough to keep them as ornaments. 🙂 xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

