DIY · Ephemera

Spring Cuties Add-on & Freebie #4

This post will be my last spring post this year, and maybe it is kind of easing us into summer. There is a super cute Tea Cup add-on and the final spring freebie. I’m also continuing my deconstruction quest, the 4th pocket is up today. So get comfortable and get ready for another picture heavy post! 🙂

The adorable Tea Cup Add-on has one sheet of 6 large tea cups, two sheets of French antique checks, and three sheets of French trade card backs:

I used the tea cups to decorate the checks and two trade card backs, together with pieces from the Precious Pansy Add-on and cards and fussies from the Spring Cuties collection. Antique checks are great for making wrap around pockets, I left the white on the sides as gussets on my pockets, so these can also hold a lot. If printed two pages to a sheet, you can use the checks as belly bands or side tucks too. The trade card backs are great for decorating with fussies and other bits and pieces, examples in my makes below :-D.

I love the combination of typography and images, and you will find it in most of my projects:

I printed my trade card backs on matte photo paper (160gsm) and glued each card onto a generous piece of brown packing paper. When the glue was dry, I placed my tear ruler aligned with the edge of the card, giving me a charming torn paper edge on these journal cards. They could of course be used as journal or card toppers too!

I used various fussies from the Spring Cuties collection to decorate some paper bags I made recently, they are now ready to go into a journal, either glued in as pockets, or just as pocket fillers.

Today we will take a closer look at the fourth pocket in my deconstruction series:

This pocket needs one sheet of paper, and a couple of extra inserts (colored red in the slideshow below). I used the left-over pieces from last weeks pocket to cut my inserts. Another idea would be to use book pages for the inserts, or coffee dyed paper. It can either be glued in, to open downwards, or clipped in as a floating pocket. This is a pocket to consider if your paper looks best in the portrait orientation, papers that therefore often are not well suited for most other pockets.

INSTRUCTIONS:

  • Print the paper you want to use onto matte photo paper or medium weight card stock. The following measurements will fit an A4 paper, you will have to adjust the measurements if you make this pocket from a different sized paper.
  • (1) Score the paper heightwise at 5,5cm and 15,5cm. You will need two inserts from another paper a tad bit more narrow than 10cm.
  • (2) Fold down all 4 corners, near the fold line, but not overlapping, to avoid bulk.
  • (3-4-5) Fold the piece in the middle to create the double pocket. Insert the additional pieces to cover the white openings. One of the pieces should be extended enough to be folded over and make the flap.
  • I opted for a policy envelope closure on my pocket, another option would be a velcro dot or small magnets
  • For the small pockets inside I used net.
  • This pocket can be glued in and opened downwards in a journal, or be clipped in as a floating pocket.

And here is the fourth Spring Cuties freebie:

If you enjoy my posts here on Wings of Whimsy, please consider subscribing.

You will find the various parts of the Spring Cuties Collection here:

Click on the ko-fi logo below to find out more:

Click to E-mail me :-)
Gunnvor Karita

Follow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

Leave a comment