1914 Rose Heart Bookmarks

Have I told you lately how much I love roses…? Yes, in every second post, you say? I hope you are here because you love roses too, then, because I’m not going to stop any time soon…:-P

I have designed a new type of bookmarks to share with you today, featuring Miss Ella V. Baines’ gorgeous roses from a 1914 rose catalog, and the shape of a Coca Cola bookmark from around the turn of the century:

Wings of Whimsy: Rose Heart Bookmarks #freebie #printable #ephemera #rose #heart

Wings of Whimsy: Rose Heart Bookmarks #freebie #printable #ephemera #rose #heart

Wings of Whimsy: Coca Cola Heart Bookmarks #freebie #printable #ephemera #heart

I printed mine on 170g Canon photo paper, folded them in half along the pink middle line, applied spray glue to the back and pressed the front and back together for double sided bookmarks.

I also chose to laminate mine, after they were glued, but before I cut out the shapes. The inner heart shape has to be cut with an exacto knife for a neat finish, and you might not find that super easy when they are laminated. If you don’t have a laminator, another option could also be to simply apply contact paper toΒ the sheet before gluing it together and cutting out the bookmarks πŸ˜‰ That might be easier to cut too, since it is not quite as thick and stiff. I did not try these as paper only, but I think that will probably work as well, since they are double sided…;-)

Some ideas on where to use these bookmarks:

  • to mark important pages in books at work
  • favorite and/or often used recipes in your cook books
  • pages in your journal
  • to hold several pages together in a letter
  • include a personalized bookmark when gifting a book to someone
  • and of course the obvious, in the books your are currently reading

Wings of Whimsy: Rose Heart Bookmarks #freebie #printable #ephemera #rose #heart

Wings of Whimsy: Rose Heart Bookmarks #freebie #printable #ephemera #rose #heart

Wings of Whimsy: Rose Heart Bookmarks #freebie #printable #ephemera #rose #heartThese files are free for your personal use and enjoyment. Go to the download folder below to grab your high quality copies πŸ™‚

Download Printable

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click β€œFollow” Β to register and make sure you don’t miss future posts on WoW:

  • WordPress-users:Β in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

I have used the following graphics for these designs:

Heart Shaped Bookmark – Coca Cola

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

10 thoughts on “1914 Rose Heart Bookmarks

  1. Always a joy to see what you are up to, peek into your studio, and glean another lovely graphics project! These hearts will be ready in plenty of time for Valentines. I use photo laminating sheets, my iron, and parchment paper over top to protect surfaces to laminate small projects. I’ll be trying it on these! Thank you Gunnvor!

    • I started out creating a sheet with the Coca Cola motif on one side and roses on the other, so I actually do. I’m at work now, but will upload it to the folder when I get home. However, I had a slightly “worse” version of the Coca Cola bookmark when i started out, I found the version I have shared here mid-process… πŸ˜› So my original sheet is not quite as good looking as the post… xoxoxo

  2. Gunnvor
    Have you considered gluing the bookmarks on a thin plastic like empty soda bottles? I figure I can take a small soda bottle and put it between some wax paper then place some towels over that and flatten the bottle with a iron on low heat just enough to flatten it and then glue the bookmarks on that and cut them out. You can also find plastic sheets in the office supply store and glue them on that.

    • I love the way they turned out laminated, they are not glossy at all, they actually look quite stylish πŸ˜€ But I’m sure your idea will be a helpful option to those who would like an alternative to laminating πŸ™‚ Thank you so much Sweetie πŸ™‚ xoxoxo

  3. Pingback: Antique Seed Catalog Reinvented: 1914 Miss Ella V. Baines Rose Clocks 2,5″ Tags | Wings of Whimsy

  4. Pingback: Antique Seed Catalog Reinvented: 1914 Miss Ella V. Baines Tab Dividers | Wings of Whimsy

Leave a Reply

