DIY · Ephemera · Norwegian

Vintage Christmas Village – DAY 21 & 22 – free printables

Did you wonder about the Snow Cherubs? I knew they had to be part of this project, but it took me a while to figure out how to make them stand up. I tried various types of support:, criss cross paper, backing easels, binder clips and what not. But finally I arrived upon a solution that not only does it work perfectly, it also looks amazing, and is super easy to do:

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Village - free printables #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #snow #cherub #treeYes, it is real snow outside 🙂 I have trouble getting pictures in daylight because we have so few hours of it this time of year here in Western Norway, and I almost thought I would not make it this weekend either, because it was snowing during the good hours… but I was able to do this shoot just before the daylight was gone on Sunday 😀

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Village - free printables #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #snow #cherub #tree

All 25 Snow Cherubs from my Vintage Christmas Village gathered for a big chorus of Christmas carolling 😀

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Village - free printables #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #snow #cherub #tree Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Village - free printables #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #snow #cherub #tree Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Village - free printables #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #snow #cherub #tree

The support I designed is a custom fit strip of paper, cut and folded to form a triangle, glued to the back of each Snow Cherub, and then onto bottle caps painted with 2 coats of white acrylic pain 😀 Go to the download folder below if you want a copy of the sheet with plenty of support strips ready made to print at home.

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Village - free printables #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #snow #cherub #tree

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Village - free printables #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #snow #cherub #tree

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Village - free printables #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #snow #cherub #tree

I have cut my Snow Cherubs leaving a thin white border. I think it both adds to the snowy feel, and it is a lot easier to cut them this way. You may of course cut yours precisely if you wish! Don’t they look pretty all sparkling with glitter? That was done with a quick spritz of spray glue followed by a generous dusting of glitter. Glittering all 25 Snow Cherubs takes about 2 minutes once they are assembled 🙂

There is also a new Blue Rose Christmas Tree today, as well as Christmas Cottages and Snow Cherubs for Day 21 & 22: 

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Village - DAY 21 - free printables #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #cherub #tree Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Christmas Village - DAY 22 - free printables #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #cherub #tree

Grab the printable files for these 2 sets, the Blue Rose Christmas Tree and the Snow Cherub Support Sheet here:

Download Printables

These files are free for your personal use and enjoyment 🙂

I have used the following elements for todays designs:

Little Paper Houses – Just Something I Made

Christmas Label – The Graphics Fairy

Presented – The Graphics Fairy

Christmas Endpaper – Catnip Studio Collage

Retro Blue Rose Christmas Tree – She Walks Softly

Snow Cherub – Zibi Vintage Scrap

Snow Cherub – Manualidades

Love&Light

25 thoughts on “Vintage Christmas Village – DAY 21 & 22 – free printables

  1. Gunnvor ~ these houses, trees, and angels are amazing! I haven’t come across all of the angels you’ve provided… they are beautiful, each in their own way 🙂 Can’t forget to mention that I see the sweet little snow angel with white lilies 🙂 Thank you, I appreciate the time and effort you put into these images. Very well done, as usual!

    1. Thank you so much Dear Megan 🙂 It means a lot to me that you like it 😀 Did you find your design? It is in the first picture (and a couple a bit further down) 😉

    1. Yay! I’m so pleased you like my idea, the first file in the download folder is the support strips I designed to fit with bottle caps. I’m sure this idea could work for other scraps too! How about painting the bottle caps green and using some flower girls for spring? Thank you for leaving a comment, comments make me happy 😀 xoxoxo

  2. Thank you so very much for your generosity. I have been steadily working for a few weeks now on my holiday project for this year. Felt I needed a break and started to browse, when I came upon your site. Had I stumbled across you sooner, my project plans would have been very different. This is gorgeous! and I am already excited for the 2015 holidays, although I will be using a few of them for the December birthdays coming up (and I even see one that would be perfect for Valentines!). All the fussy cutting will take time, but I find it relaxing and can clearly see that the results are so worth it. Again, many thanks for this lovely gift.

    1. Thank you for leaving such a lovely comment. The village looks nice with many houses, but even a single house arranged alone can make an interesting display. I like to cut when I need something relaxing too!!! lol xoxoxo

  3. These snow cherubs are truly lovely!! where can I print them out, all 25? The way you have set them up is absolutely beautiful and all your other DIY are stunning. Thank you so much for sharing. Cheers

    1. Thank you so much Susan. The only way (as of now) to print all 25 is by printing the sheets for each day. There is one house and one snow cherub on each sheet, for a total of 25 sheets. I am considering uploading the individual cherubs as png’s to the exclusive folder for followers only…;-) xoxoxo

      1. I am in love with all your creations. My family owns a Victorian tea house and I would love to utilize the cherubs on top of tea cakes for our Victorian Christmas Tea- could you possibly consider emailing or posting me a sheet of just the cherubs. I will be ever so thankful. You have a wonderful and generous gifting spirit to share all this with those of us who are not that good at graphic manipulation. ADORES Your work 🙂

      2. Dear Lara! You comment has me convinced! I WILL upload a sheet of Snow Cherubs to the Exclusive folder, and let you know when they are ready 😉 right now I ca’t promise that it will include all 25 cherubs, but I should be able to fit 16 on one sheet…:-P And then maybe I’ll add a few new ones and create a sexond sheet later…;-) xoxoxo

        PS I would love to see pictures of your Victorian tea house, and of the tea cakes dressed up with cherubs…:-D

  4. Thank you so much! It’s a tradition that my extended family makes a Christmas craft on Thanksgiving Day, and I was so fortunate to find your beautiful houses – the family will be amazed!!

    1. YAY!!! I’m so very excited every time someone “finds” the village and decide to give it a try 🙂 This year I am recycling my own village with some new and updated displays, there might be pictures of those coming…lol xoxoxo

  5. Oh my! What a lovely treasure your blog is! I’ve been happily downloading your little Christmas trees and houses to decorate the table for my family Christmas dinner. I also followed you on Pinterest. Thank you, thank you!

    1. Thank you Christiane 🙂 I’m sorry for not answering your comment sooner, but December ended up being a bit on the backburner…:-P I wish you a creative and happy New Year 🙂 xoxoxo

Leave a comment