DIY · Ephemera

Antique Seed Catalog Reinvented – 1918 Dingee Guide to Rose Culture

Here is a second Dingee Guide to Rose Culture design I created, with the 1918 Seed Catalog back cover:

Wings of Whimsy: Antique Seed Catalogs Reinvented - 1918 Dingee Conard #vintage #epehemera #freebie #printable #seed #catalog

The stunning Black Beauty in my rose frame is from The Hugh Magnum Photography Collection at Duke University, another fabulous source for black portraits!

Wings of Whimsy: Victorian Black Beauty Portrait #vintage #ephemera #printable #photo #black #negro #portrait #photo #victorian

And here is the frame as a PNG-file too (transparent background), for you to use with your own images:
Wings of Whimsy: Antique Seed Catalogs Reinvented - 1918 Dingee Conard Frame - PNG (transparent background) #vintage #epehemera #freebie #printable #seed #catalog

The original 1918 Dingee Guide to Rose Culture Seed Catalog back cover has a description of various roses:

Wings of Whimsy: Antique Seed Catalogs Reinvented - 1918 Dingee Conard Seed Catalog #vintage #epehemera #freebie #printable #seed #catalog

Find your high quality copies in the download folder, free for your personal use and enjoyment 🙂

Download Printable

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss any future posts:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

I used elements from the following sources for this design: 

The Hugh Magnum Photography Collection – Duke University

1918 Dingee Guide to Rose Culture – archive.org

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

3 thoughts on “Antique Seed Catalog Reinvented – 1918 Dingee Guide to Rose Culture

  1. I am soooo grateful to you for giving a source for the rare African American images that I can proudly use in my artwork. I appreciate it, I really do. 🙂

    1. Thank you Carol for leaving such a warm and lovely comment! My love for the Black Beauties was boosted last fall, when we did the Tart Tin Ornament Swap, and Deb sent me some wonderful ornaments with amazing portraits! I then created a whole sheet with 2,5″ tags (found here: https://wingsofwhimsy.wordpress.com/2014/12/09/black-victorian-beauty-25-tags/) and have been collecting these (indeed rare!) images since!! I’d love to see some of your artwork, please send me a private email if you have pictures to share! xoxoxo

Leave a comment