DIY · Norwegian

DIY Fil de Fer Royal Crown

I like to vary what crafts I do (thus my blog title) and lately I have been all over the place… moving a little away from paper(!) – as long as it makes me happy…lol!

Here is my freshly crafted Fil de Fer Royal Crown, it took me about 2 hours to make once I had stashed up on wire:

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Fil de Fer Royal CrownWings of Whimsy: DIY Fil de Fer Royal Crown

I did by no means invent this beauty, I followed the very easy tutorial found on the Swedish blog Kerstinsdottern!

Now, Swedish and Norwegian are two different languages, but closely related, enough that I can read her instructions just fine. But she has no instructions in English :-O If you want to copy this crown, please try google translate on the instructions, or write me and I’ll happily translate to English for you! She asks for a little feedback if anyone uses her instructions to make a crown, so please leave her a little blog love if you stop by 🙂

I have a plan for my Fil de Fer Royal Crown, but until that project is ready, she (I definitely think my crown is female!) sits on top of my plain and boring wood stove, making it a modern version of the Kroneovn, that was very popular in Norway around the turn of the century:

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Fil de Fer Royal Crown

OMG I really need to paint my wood stove, look how sad and grey it is… come spring I’ll have to see about that 😉 And what is whit me, not being able to remove my seasonal projects…??? 😛 I have both Christmas AND Valentine AND Easter stuff up atm… lol – as long as it makes me happy, right? 😀 I even used some of the cuteh-pah-toothe RPP Christmas Cherubs to make these cute little tags, displayed with my dear Grandmothers unpolished silverware 🙂 (Sorry Gran, it’s called “vintage” and it’s much more stylish these days than polishing your silverware every week, then leaving it in the drawer!):

Wings of Whimsy: Angel Tags

The tags are a punch-project. I punched the cherubs faces with a 2″ circle punch and the heart borders with my Martha Steward Heart Edge punch. To fold the heart border around the circle (or basically a-n-y shape, like the Cherub Hearts in the previous picture on this post) just snip between each heart (or other pattern, so your punched strip is barely connected, and glue one section at the time to the back. I used my glue gun, but little glue dots would also do the trick 😉 Then add another sweet cherub face to the back, and you have double sided ornaments, or just punch another circle from plain paper, and you have a little writing space, should you want to use these as gift tags.

After making the crown and realizing how amazingly easy wire works are, I’ve been compiling a Pinterest board with lots of other projects for inspiration, so don’t be surprised if you see more Fil de Fer from me down the road!

Here is one I made “freelance” just off the picture – the original was for sale on etsy:

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Fil de Fer Display

Seems I have some of my non-seasonal crafts up as well…:-P

When mum’s crafting, I’m never alone, and my youngest daughter Torunn (age 9) made this precious beauty:

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Fil de Fer Candle Cage

Here are some links for you to check out:

Wire Crown Tutorial in Swedish – Kerstinsdottern

DIY Wire Works – my Pinterest board

Curly Wire Photo Holder – from etsy

Cottage Lights – Wings of Whimsy

Valentine Hearts – Wings of Whimsy

French Christmas Cherubs – Wings of Whimsy

Celebrity Bookmarks – Wings of Whimsy

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

8 thoughts on “DIY Fil de Fer Royal Crown

    1. Thanks for the lovely comment Margie 🙂 I have an idea brewing for a book project, combining your book art with a little fil de fer… 🙂 If you have not tried it, I totally recommend it, it’s fabulous fun! And I also like the roughness of wire work, no need for it to be straight and perfect 😛 xoxoxo

  1. I love the wire crown! I saw the original on Pinterest, and you did a wonderful job. I can’t believe it only took two hours! I’m such a sucker for crowns. And unpolished silver! It is cooler than polished, dang it! Thanks for the enjoyable scroll. I will look you up on Pinterest, my drug of choice. Cheers!

    1. It’s dangerous that Pinterest…lol! But I also owe it sooo much, for boosting my creativity to levels I had never thought was possible 😀 xoxoxo

  2. The crown is beautiful! I’d love to make one for my step-daughter but the blog is only viewable by invite only. Do you happen to have the english instructions you could share please?

    1. I’m sorry to see that the blog is now closed. And no one ever asked me to translate the instructions before, so I’m sorry but I don’t have them anymore 😦 And this being a year and a half ago, and many, many craft projects in between, I really can’t remember the details or measurements any longer. But I do remember it involved making 4 large Ms with double of the thicker (black) wire, wrapping those with the thinner (silver) wire. Those Ms where then attached to the bottom ring construction, again with the thinner wire. The middle cross was created last, with two double pieces of the thicker wire, wrapped with the thinner. Then the thinner wire was used to attach the cross in the middle and secure the cross and the 4 large Ms. If I decide to make another crown, I’ll be sure to write down my measurements, and how I make it…:-P xoxoxo

Leave a comment