DIY · Ephemera

Vintage Paper Doll Angels – Part 6

Tonight I’m sharing the last set of paper dolls with you, for a total of 24 different Paper Doll Angels:

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll

And there’s one last color of the Angel Wings too:

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Angel WIngs #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll

These files are free for your personal use and enjoyment. Go to the download folder below to grab your high quality copies 🙂

Download Printable

I did not choose the number 24 randomly, I wanted there to be one doll for each day of Advent. Thus the little angels can be numbered and used for an Advent calendar. 😀

I know some of you are going to 25 with the countdown (although December 25th is technically no longer Advent, but Christmas…) so I suggest using one of the Teacup Cherubs from yesterday as the 25th, if you need one.

I made some numerals last year, that would look lovely with these, choose Christmas red or Chalkboard style:

Wings of Whimsy: Antique Christmas Countdown - free for personal use #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #cherub #tree   Wings of Whimsy: Antique Christmas Countdown - free for personal use #vintage #victorian #ephemera #cottage #cherub #tree

For now, I have all the Paper Doll Angels hung in my studio, I put them above the door, directly under the ceiling:Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #dollWould you like to know how I made my Christmas Angels? Here is my recap, with some pictures too:

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Cut out a-l-l the pieces… This might take a little while, I did a few every night for about 4 nights…:-P

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll

2. Spray a little glue on the dolls and the wings and sprinkle with glitter. I used spray glue, and did batches of about 6-8 sets, first glue then glitter, then next batch. The spray glue is only sticky for a short while, that’s why you should not do all at once…:-P

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll3. I then attached silver tinsel crowns (made out of silver pipe cleaners, so they are easy to just bend around the edges of the heads)

4. And gold halos (made with gold foil and my brand new Big Shot and a 2″ jagged edge die) If you look closely you will see that some of the dolls have a plain circle halo. I could not resist embossing the halos with a damask pattern, but they also look really nice just “blank”!

5. I glued the halos to the back of their heads with one of those little double sided tape cushions, to give a little dimension away from the head.

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll

6. I attached the wings with a dab of glue in the middle of their backs, with a hot glue gun. I had prepared the string already, and sandwiched it between the body and the wings.

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll

7. This allows you to pull the wings back a little for extra dimension.

8. Hang and TA-DAH: Vintage Paper Doll Angels 😀

Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll Wings of Whimsy: Vintage Paper Doll Angels #vintage #printable #freebie #ephemera #paper #doll

It was a little too dark when I took the finished pictures, I’ll try to take better one and replace them when I get a chance…

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss any future posts:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

18 thoughts on “Vintage Paper Doll Angels – Part 6

  1. Soooo beautiful they look, now that they´re all finished here, and hung up. Here the girls have been playing with them this week-end too, but ufortunately didn´t finishe them, but 2 of the girls, who left last night took the last of them home to finish there. They were also just thrilled about them, and very exited to get them all cut out and finished. And the 2 smallest of the girls even made a stand up for them, so they could play with them on the table while they were standing too, just like they made clothes for them too, so they had a great time with these cute dolls here, and asked me to say thanks sooo very much for all of these.

    1. Awwwwww, I’m so excited to hear that my Dear 🙂 After you said you wanted to share these with the girls I tried to hurry the project, so you’d get them all in time, but this last set was probably too late…? I’d love to see how they made them stand up? And please consider my suggestion about the mobile, my answer to you on your previous comment? Big hugs! xoxoxo

      1. No it wasn´t too late, and the girls were sooo happy you managed to get them all up here, and we actually managed to print the last one right before they were picked up, so they took them home, and wanted to make them at home, and then we agreed, they could bring them here the week-end og the 24th – 25th where the 2 of them will be here again, and hopefully we could make the mobile then. Sure I will share with everyone here, and I promisse to make a photottorial as we go then, so you can all see step by step, how I make these.
        I think I have some pics of the stands they made for the dlls in my camera too, I´ll take a look tomorrow and share it, if I have, else I´ll make another one, it took probably 15 seconds to make it ha ha ha, so it wount be any big thing ha ha ha.
        Thanks again sooom much for all the beautiful shares here, and have a wonderful night.

      2. I’d love to see pictures 🙂 I had a long day yesterday, traveling for work, so I wasn’t able to get on here, sorry about the belated answer…:-P I wish you a lovely Wednesday my Dear 😀 xoxoxo

  2. Oh my, what a lot of work you did! Lovely, lovely, lovely, I love them all. I must confess, it’s overwhelming to me. LOL

    1. hahaha! I know, making a-l-l of them must seem a little overwhelming…:-P But how about you pick your favorite sheet of 4 and a sheet with wings? That downsizes this project a lot, and you can still enjoy 4 pretty Angels, and have a few extra wings to stick on whatever you can imagine later 😉 xoxoxo

  3. You are a dear to share with us. I just found your site today and love your angels. My group of girlfriends would love them too and when I have my open house for my craft studio/sewing room I may print some of these and everyone will get to make and take an angel home to remind them of my get-together. Thanks again, t Allen

  4. Hi, just found this site and I am blown away. So very pretty angels. I left a comment earlier but don’t know just where it went. I tried downloading so I could print out this dolls but can’t seem to get it to work. I clicked on the download but nothing happened except another page appeared with other amazing pictures. Can’t find the angel dolls to print out. Can someone leave a comment with the instructions on how to do this. I thank you very much.

    1. Hello Maggie 🙂 I have not received any earlier comment from you, unless you signed it with a different name/avatar? The link takes you to my Christmas download folder, since I made these for Christmas 2014. When you are inside the Christmas folder, the main level holds the most recent files (2015) and since these angels were from 2014, you want to click on the subfolder named 2014 😉 Please let me know if you still can’t locate the files. xoxoxo

  5. I love all your post for vintage paper dolls but I cannot seem to find them when I click your link is it possible you could send it to me including the wings

    1. Thank you Torri 🙂 Fairly early in this post there is a Download button. That will take you to my Christmas download folder. Click on Christmas 2014 when you are in the folder, and you will find all the downloads there 🙂 xoxoxo

Leave a comment