DIY

DIY Tart Tins Rain Chain & Suncatcher

My little angel Bella used to hold a small lantern. One day she said to me – It is always raining around here, may I have a  rain chain to entertain me please? Who am I to deny an angel anything? So a vintage rain chain she got:

(All images in this post are clickable, if you want to zoom in on the details!)

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diy

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diy

Look how happy Bella is with her new toy!

It extends all the way down to Cupid and Psyche, who insisted I move their little birdbath right underneath the fresh downpour:

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diyWings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diy

With the shiny tart tins and the glas beads I used to make this chain, it certainly doubles as a suncatcher too:

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diy

All the way from the glas doorknob I used on top…Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diy

…via 6 tires of glas hearts…Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diy Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diyto the giant crystal drop at the bottom, made from a vintage salt shaker filled with water and a few drops of red food coloring. 😀Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diy

Even the little fish and the tiny birds are happy:

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diy

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diyYOU can of course make a rain chain too! Just grab anything that can take the outdoors, and string it up like jewelry, only use more solid wire. And use your imagination, to create a wonderful heirloom piece of art for your deck or garden 🙂

I started my piece “upside down” by first threading the loop for hanging, twisting the wire ends securely around themselves (hidden inside the doorknob) and then layering my tires as I went along, one glas heart per tire. Finally the wire is secured at the bottom by “weaving” it several times through the holes of the salt shaker lid. When I screwed on the salt shaker body, all wire is hidden and only the decorative elements are showing.

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diy Wings of Whimsy: DIY Tart Tin Rain Chain & Suncatcher #vintage #tarttin #diy
Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss any future posts:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

14 thoughts on “DIY Tart Tins Rain Chain & Suncatcher

  1. This is such an awesome idea too hun. I really like how you made these look sooo fantastis with these small figures here, really beautiful. I would certainly love to be able to have a peek inside your brain some time, with all these amazing new ideas, that´s growing in there always ha ha ha. It really looks fabulous how you´ve decorated everything outside, and I can imagine how cosy it´ll be to sit outthere on a nice summernight.
    I can see, that I completely forgot to comment on your delisious rubarbpies, they certainly also looks really nice and tasty too. We also use to make loads of different pies and cakes with rubarb, as we have them in the garden, so it´s always nice with a new recipee to try out, so thanks sooo much for that too.
    Have a wonderful week-end ahead now and loads of great fun too, I hope.

    1. Thank you Sweetie 🙂 Yes, the place is really shaping up! I have two more projects to share (Thursday and Friday) and then it’s time for the big reveal (Saturday, Sunday and Monday). Indeed the reveal will be split into 3 posts there is just so, so much to show…lol! Now, if only the weather would also agree with me! 😛 xoxoxo

Leave a comment