DIY

DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosettes Tutorial

Did you enjoy the Crêpe Paper Rosettes I shared yesterday? Here’s a little tutorial on how I made them, and a fun twist that turns them into magnets too:

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosette

What you’ll need:

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosette

SUPPLIES

Precut/prepunched circles, mine are 2,5″ circles.

Sticky glue of some sort, I use the Casco RX glue for assembling and the UHU twist and glue for embellishments. The Casco RX glue has a tip great for spreading the glue out in an even layer, while the UHU glue has a fine tip for precission application. Also the UHU glue is very expensive, thus I try to use it only when I have to…:-P But you could probably use either one (or simmilar type) for the whole process.

Crêpe paper.I’d say the width is approx 1,5-2″. If you can get the precut rolls, I imagine they would be great for rosettes, but they don’t sell them here, so I have the big packs, and just discovered that I can cut my own “roll” off the edge, just as easily. Don’t try cutting strips, it will result in much more cutting, much more joining and more uneven widths. I learned that the hard way 😛 

Magnets to sandwich in the middle, if you want your rosettes to be magnetic.

A pencil, to mark the middle of the circle, before you start pleating the crepe paper. After it’s pleated it’s difficult to tell the middle. I learned this the hard way too…:-P

Stickles, glitter, mica flakes for embellishments. I used Ranger Frosted Lace Stickles with Tim Holz Distress Glitter Spun Sugar for my blue rosettes, and the UHU glue with Melissa Frances Pink Mica Flakes for my pink rosettes.

INSTRUCTIONS

STEP 1:

Eyeball and mark the middle of your circle. Apply glue to the circle, try to come close to the edge, without spilling off the edge.

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosette STEP 2:

Pleat the crêpe paper onto the edge of the circle, don’t worry about making the pleats perfectly even

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosetteSTEP 3:

Make sure you pleat a few extra at the end, so there is no gap, and adjust when you see how it fits.

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosetteSTEP 4 (optional):

Attach a magnet if you want to use these on a fridge or any other metal surface:

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosette

STEP 5:

Apply glue to the second circle, try to get close to the edges here too, to hold your rosette securely together, and use scissors to cut the rosette nice and round (I’m not making mine “perfectly” round, but I’m a fan of a little “handmade charm”, you can of course be a lot more precise if you wish!)

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosette

STEP 6:

Apply stickles (and glitter) or glue and mica flakes

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosette Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosette

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosette Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Rosettes Tutorial

I’m keeping my mica flakes in a thrifted sugar dispenser, it is very convenient for this use 🙂

STEP 7:

Enjoy your new Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosettes, wether they are magnetic or for other use:

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosette

Wings of Whimsy: DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosette Tutorial  #vintage #ephemera #valentine #rosette

Here is a roundup of the various sets of 2,5″ circular tags I have shared, click on the set you like to go to the original post:

Wings of Whimsy: Sailing Cherubs 2,5" Tags #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #cherub #valentine #tagWings of Whimsy: Valentine Love 2,5" Tags #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #cherub #valentine #tag

Wings of Whimsy: Valentine Cherubs 2,5" Tags #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #cherub #valentine #tag Wings of Whimsy: To My Valentine 2,5" Tags #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #cherub #valentine #tag Wings of Whimsy: Valentine Greeting 2,5" Tags #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #cherub #valentine #tag Wings of Whimsy: French Musicla Cherubs 2,5" Tags #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #cherub #valentine #tag Wings of Whimsy: Best Love 2,5" Tags #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #cherub #valentine #tag Wings of Whimsy: Love's Greeting 2,5" Tags #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #cherub #valentine #tag Wings of Whimsy: Little Fairies 2,5# Tags #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #fairy Wings of Whimsy: Clock Girls 120mm (CD size) #vintage #ephemera #freebie #printable #collage #clock

If you want your rosettes smaller, you can follow my conversion chart to size your print out to your punches:

Wings of Whimsy: Circle Print Conversion Chart #diy

Did you enjoy this post? If you are not already a confirmed follower of Wings of Whimsy, please click “Follow”  to register and make sure you don’t miss any future posts:

  • WordPress-users: in the top left corner of your browser window to register your WordPress-account
  • Other readers: in the bottom right corner of your browser window to register your email-address

Click to E-mail me :-)

Gunnvor KaritaFollow me on Pinterest:

Click to follow me on Pinterest

9 thoughts on “DIY Valentine Crêpe Paper Rosettes Tutorial

  1. I just discovered you and I feel like I just struck gold. Thank you so much for all the wonderful valentine images. I used them to make these valentines for my sisters. Randi Scholl Sent from my iPhone

    >

    1. Thank you Randi 🙂 I am very pleased to hear that, and also very sorry about the belated answer. I have had some internet issues lately, but hopefully it should be all sorted now! xoxoxo

    1. Thank you Iris 🙂 It feels like Valentine’s day is already waaay in the past, so I’m very sorry about not being able to reply sooner. Better late than never, I hope! xoxoxo

      1. I understand. No problem. We all have our share of “busy”, lol. Hugs

  2. I just found your blog and pinterest today, I absolutely love it!!!! Thank you for taking the time on showing how to make the crepe rosettes, I of course, will give it a whirl, hopefully, they will look somewhat like yours. You are extremely talented and I will probably also be buying some of your wonderful images.

    Cindy Leaf

    1. Awww, thank you so much! I feel like I’m just creating what I enjoy and do my own takes on things, not like I’m really coming up with anything new…lol! Part of the fun is sharing my creations here, and sometimes there are comments like this, suggesting other value my work. It sure fuels my creative engine…lol Thank you very much Cindy! xoxoxo

Leave a comment